Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > Mini CP


Mini CP Walkera Mini CP Helicopter Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 10:30 AM   #1
Picofly
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,177
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Default My Mini Cp as FPV platform

Since my Mini CP is practically useless as 3D trainer I have transformed it to a FPV test platform .

I have bought a 5.8GHz video transmitter & receiver, a 1g video camera and a 0,6g 5.0V voltage regulator. The whole pagage weights 4.8g with connectors. It is not bad, but I may remove the connectors in the future to save another gram.

AUW of my heli is 51,5g including a 240 mAh Hyperion lipo. It is ok but I should be able to shave the weigh below 50g by replacing my WK-LT10 ESC with a lighter Oversky ESC.

Here is the first live video test. Quality of the video is not perfect yet but things are looking promising. The camera is shaking a little bit because the stock canopy is so flimsy. I will try a Genius V2 canopy next.

Please note that this is not a true FPV flight yet because I have an eye contact to my heli all the time.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3428.JPG
Views:	715
Size:	92.8 KB
ID:	301246   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3434.JPG
Views:	597
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	301247   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3435.JPG
Views:	637
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	301248   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3431.JPG
Views:	665
Size:	105.6 KB
ID:	301249  
__________________
Gaui X2 & V-Bar Mini
MiniProtos stretched 6S & V-Bar Mini
Blade 130X & Mini H-quad FPV setups

Last edited by Picofly; 03-23-2012 at 04:07 PM..
Picofly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:05 AM   #2
pmerritt
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
Default

haha, that's pretty cool...you should throw some 350mah batteries on there for a little more flight time.
pmerritt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:12 AM   #3
jonbailie
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,578
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Savannah, Georgia
Default

that is sweet

Why can't you use your mcp for 3d training?
__________________
// T-Rex 600EFL Pro 3GX // T-Rex 450 Pro V2 3GX // T-Rex 250 Pro DFC 3GX //
// Walkera V120D02-S (x2) // Walkera V120D02 // Walkera Genius CP (x3) //
// EFlite Blade MCPX (x2) // EFlite Blade 120SR // E-Sky Belt CPX //
// WK2801 // Spektrum DX4e //
jonbailie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
john aeras
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,002
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Default

That's really cool! Could you post links of the video equipment?
Thanks in advance!
__________________
Some people have a problem for every solution...
john aeras is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
Heli-opolis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Default

I bet that with the added weight spread more evenly across the usable length of the frame, that it will fly funnels better now.

I too would enjoy knowing where you got the gear to go FPV with.

I flew full scale YEARS before picking up a transmitter and always said that had I the ability to sit in the pilots seat on an RC heli, that I could fly much better.

One still wouldn't have the feedback through one's natural ability to balance ourselves but being able to maintain the pilot orientation visually at least has got to be very useful.
Heli-opolis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:04 PM   #6
bytemuncher
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Default

That's pretty cool. Are you friends with Kopteri? I remember he had a very similar setup that he posted on rcg. He also had the same audio/video crackling.
bytemuncher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 02:54 AM   #7
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyKraken View Post
I have questions about the Tx channels, the Tx defaults to ch8 with no connections to ground and provided are 3 channel ports, using them in combination you can obtain any of 8 channels. To select channel 1, for example, all 3 channel ports are tied to ground.

What does that mean exactly, where are these getting soldered connected to?

Is there a difference between the antenna ground and the dc power ground?
And the wire whip antenna it doesn't require a ground but the sma requires two, why?
The channel connections can be connected to ground any way you like. Most people use tiny dip switches so they can change the channel easily.

Antenna ground and DC power ground are the same.

The sma ground connections are electrially identical, ie there is two just to give a solid place for the SMA to attach to the PCB. The SMA ground allows the use of sheilded coaxial cable for extending the antenna. The other reason you use a ground with your antenna is so you can shield the antenna so you can have an exact length of the active wire that is exposed. The length of the antenna is critical.

Joly

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 01:43 AM   #8
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyKraken View Post
Ah thanks, I think I understand now.

The drawing I was looking at contained a dip switch, which is now obvious, I'm a little embarrassed I asked about the Tx channels in hindsight.

I am glad I asked the antenna question, that clarified a lot of what I've been trying to understand. Not that I really understand the concept of "leak", I get confused when I read about antenna theory stuff. In the end I fall back on the belief it is just magic, powered by the same smoke I'm not suppose to let out of any electronics.

The "Planar" antennas talked about, or clover leaf like designs, are they used them on both the Tx and Rx, or just the Tx with a "Patch" antenna on the Rx?

Concerning the "Diversity" Receivers, I suppose you combine the 2 channel capability into a bridged single channel receiver, since you are just trying to pick up one Tx?

If so, then would you ever mix antenna combinations, like a clover and a patch on the "Diversity" receiver? Is the term "Diversity' just a model name or does it have an intrinsic meaning, is it more than just 2 channel Rx?
You can mix and match antennas any way you like as long as they have the same polarity, eg RHCP with RHCP, vertical with vertical etc.

As far as I know, diversity is simply transmitting and receiving on multiple frequencies, eg, transmit on two frequencies and receive on the same two frequencies.

For example, you could transmit on 2455mhz using an RHCP antenna and on 5785Ghz on a vertically polarised antenna. Then you'd to receive on 2455mhz with any type of RHCP antenna, and on 5785mhz on any vertically polarized antenna.

Keep in mind the antennas are also specific to polarization, as well as radio frequency. Once you have that all sorted, you can also start thinking about other stuff like directional antennas...

With all that said, keep it simple

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:26 AM   #9
Picofly
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Default

A typical diversity receiver consists of two receiver modules and a RSSI switch which monitors signal strenght from the receivers and selects to stronger one for the a/v output. In my case, for example, both a/v receivers are tuned to the same chanel (5645 GHz) but their antennas are different. There is an omni-directional antenna attached to the other reveiver and a directional antenna to the other. That means, I can fly relatively far away (~300m) to one direction and still fly around my base station (~150m).
__________________
Gaui X2 & V-Bar Mini
MiniProtos stretched 6S & V-Bar Mini
Blade 130X & Mini H-quad FPV setups
Picofly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:29 PM   #10
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Picofly View Post
Uh, problems again!

These FPV toys seem to be hit and miss! The first 1g video camera & 200 mW transmitter module I ordered trom FPVHobby didn't work at all. The seller never answered my enquiries so I had to buy new cam & tx to get my heli into air.

And now - after a couple of hours of use the left eye display of my Fatshark video goggles started to blink on and off until the bakclight shut down for good The unit smells like burned electronics, too.
Hey picofly, I had the same issue with my fatsharks, turns out the backlight wire was shorting out. Luckily I fixed it before it burned up.

Now my 200mw tx (fpvhobby) wjich just arrived only has like 5cm of range the rx works with my other transmitters, and I know the camera is good because I do get a picture when the antennas are almost touching.... I will investigate this more


Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:00 AM   #11
SkyKraken
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,481
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Default

I feel for you guys, I hate it when stuff is broken outta the box. You start questioning all the other stuff. I'm not sure what gets me more, having to send something in to be fixed when it cost the same to buying another, or having spent a fair amount on something new, that needs to be fixed before it has lost its "never been used" cause its new status.

Helical Axial is that the type of direct antenna you are using Picofly? And a patch antenna, is that considered directional?

Jolyboy, I hope the Tx is something easy to fix, I'm curious as to what it turns out to be.
SkyKraken is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #12
Picofly
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolyboy View Post
Now my 200mw tx (fpvhobby) wjich just arrived only has like 5cm of range the rx works with my other transmitters, and I know the camera is good because I do get a picture when the antennas are almost touching.... I will investigate this more
Do transmitter's frequences match with receiver's frequences?
__________________
Gaui X2 & V-Bar Mini
MiniProtos stretched 6S & V-Bar Mini
Blade 130X & Mini H-quad FPV setups
Picofly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:11 PM   #13
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Picofly View Post
Do transmitter's frequences match with receiver's frequences?
yes, i checked the datasheets, plus it was part of that "super combo" they sell so you'd expect them to match. I've even tried them with different antennas and even with a fatshark rx to see if the tx was magically on a different frequency. No avail..

About to fork out another $20 for the same tx from foxtechfpv

Thanks SkyKraken, unfortunately I think its just faulty. I was hoping it was something simple too

EDIT: did any of you guys notice the FPVHobby site says use 5v, but the exact same TX on foxtechfpv site says "3.3v, DO NOT USE 5v"? I think I found the problem. I was running it from a fully charged 1s lipo unregulated
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:48 AM   #14
SkyKraken
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,481
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Default

I have a big 3' x 2' grid antenna, from back when I was running wireless B from our warehouses for computer connectivity. Its old, its looks like a bent bar-be-q grill.
If I remember correctly it was high gain, (not that I completely understand what that means) like 24db.

Could it be of use on the RX? What would I have to do make it work on 5.8ghz?

I watched a video on how to make your own clover leaf, looked simple enough, seems like the size of the "leaf" wires was the most critical. The Helical Axial looks simple enough, if you have some acrylic plastic, to support the coil.

Picofly's question in trouble shooting the TX problem, was the RX and the TX adjusted to the same channel, when do antennas fit into that scenario?
SkyKraken is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:05 AM   #15
Picofly
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolyboy View Post
EDIT: did any of you guys notice the FPVHobby site says use 5v, but the exact same TX on foxtechfpv site says "3.3v, DO NOT USE 5v"? I think I found the problem. I was running it from a fully charged 1s lipo unregulated
There are both 3,3V and 5V versions of the 200mW transmitter module around. RangeVideo, for example sells them both.

That being said, the excact same thing happened to me when I bought a 200mW transmitter from FPV Hobby. It became burning hot when I plugged it to the battery for the first time and never recovered.
__________________
Gaui X2 & V-Bar Mini
MiniProtos stretched 6S & V-Bar Mini
Blade 130X & Mini H-quad FPV setups
Picofly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:32 AM   #16
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Same here, my one got ultra hot. I ordered a new one and also a spare rx just in case. Now we play the waiting game. You can expect videos here as soon as I get it up and flying

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:42 AM   #17
SkyKraken
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,481
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Default

sorry, my posts are delayed for moderator approval, I guess, I'm new to this forum.
so my responses are lagging in the conversation..

I went with the Rangevideo 5v Tx and I plan to use a step-up regulator on a 1s lipo, I have not tried to power it yet. Are we assuming then the 3.3 - 5v Tx with the "built in regulator" are failing? And if I opted for a 5v, not 3.3 I'm good to go. I liked that 5v used .30ma less doing the same job.
SkyKraken is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:26 PM   #18
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,103
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

You may find that you lose that 30ma advantage by the time you step up the voltage to 5v, but these small numbers we are talking about are pretty negligible when you compare them to the amount if current the main motor draws

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:12 AM   #19
SkyKraken
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,481
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Default

Picofly, why the change to the genius canopy and are you just using servo tape to hold the camera in the nose?
SkyKraken is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:54 AM   #20
Picofly
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyKraken View Post
Picofly, why the change to the genius canopy and are you just using servo tape to hold the camera in the nose?
Genius V2 canopy was brighter and stronger than Mini Cp canopy (less vibrations, more crash resistant and easier to find from the field...)

I use epoxy to mount the camera. You should not use it too much, otherwise it is a pain to remove the camera from a broken canopy.
__________________
Gaui X2 & V-Bar Mini
MiniProtos stretched 6S & V-Bar Mini
Blade 130X & Mini H-quad FPV setups
Picofly is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > Mini CP


Mini CP Walkera Mini CP Helicopter Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com