Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default Align 500E w/AR7200BX BeastX re-build - Part 2

Hey, so before I even had the chance to break her in I decided to go flybarless. The weather is cold here and I like to mess around with what I have, so looks like I am going to be using the AR7200BX Spektrum/BeastX Flybarless unit.

I want to make sure I have no stupid tail vibrations this time around so the first thing I did was buy a metal RX tray and did the foam(that came with the AR7200BX)/aluminium/gyro tape mod. Now with the metal tray, should I flip it around so it goes into the frame or mount it normally? Should I mount between the 4 mounting points or can I mount it farther out? Or in a different location all together?

Here are a couple of pictures





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9229.jpg
Views:	975
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	289341   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9231.jpg
Views:	705
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	289342   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9232.jpg
Views:	671
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	289343  
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:49 PM   #2
Mateyhv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 875
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Spain
Default

Sorry, I don't have the answer. Is that the KDE plate? And do you have a sat for the receiver?
Mateyhv is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:03 PM   #3
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mateyhv View Post
Sorry, I don't have the answer. Is that the KDE plate? And do you have a sat for the receiver?
It's actually a Tarot metal tray and my LHS didn't have a satellite so I have to order one.

I was searching for mounting locations, and a lot of the pictures i'm coming across, the unit is mounted on top of the tail block... I thought that was a bad location because of vibrations? It would definitely be easier to do setup there though
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:24 AM   #4
Lighty
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

I have the Tarot rx try for $5 just awesome!

KDE RX tray $22

Savings PRICELESS.
__________________
/ 7HV - 7HVN 6HV - WARP 360 - FURY 55 ALL ON VX1e
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:47 AM   #5
pxpep
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Default

Mount the tray upside down so you have proper acces to the pots (from underneath the helicopter).
Mount it with the connectors facing towards the rear of the helicopter. IMO its more important to have easy acces to the servo connectors than having a clean installation.
Remember to hot glue the sevo connectors to the Beast when you are finished. Just in case.
Use a short expansion wire to the tail servo so you dont have to mess with the hot glue if you destroy the boom in a crash. That if its an ESP.
pxpep is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:20 PM   #6
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pxpep View Post
Mount the tray upside down so you have proper acces to the pots (from underneath the helicopter).
Mount it with the connectors facing towards the rear of the helicopter. IMO its more important to have easy acces to the servo connectors than having a clean installation.
Remember to hot glue the sevo connectors to the Beast when you are finished. Just in case.
Use a short expansion wire to the tail servo so you dont have to mess with the hot glue if you destroy the boom in a crash. That if its an ESP.
Thanks! That's how I mounted it. I didnt really like how spongy the stock foam was though, so I am using the grey 3m tape, then metal plate, then gyro tape now.

I also just ordered the Align 425D 3G blades. I hope they are good fbl blades, but they were half the price of others... so we will see. I doubt I could tell the difference anyways.
__________________
I'm getting out of the hobby so if you need to contact me, you can email me at my Paypal address if I don't reply on here. Thanks
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #7
motogp4me
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: united states of america,california,poway
Default ar7200bx with multi blade head

Does anyone know if the AR7200BX supports the use of a multi-blade heads. I would like to know if it supports the adjustment of phase.
motogp4me is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:23 PM   #8
Deet
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,532
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duytang View Post
I also just ordered the Align 425D 3G blades. I hope they are good fbl blades, but they were half the price of others... so we will see. I doubt I could tell the difference anyways.
The Align 3G blades are fine, i do prefer the Radix (non-FBL) blades but the differences are minor so go ahead and save the money
__________________
Dave
Goblin 500, Vbar, BLS153, BLS251, Kontronic Jive & Piro
MutliWiiCopter Scarab Stealth Armour,Scarab Stealth Reconn V3, Scarab TriiKopta, Scarab Octa, Scarab Vampire
Deet is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:21 PM   #9
snjbird
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL USA
Default

I'm really liking the mavarikk FBL blades. A friend let my try his 3Gs and they gave a pretty good bobble with my style of flying, the Edge 423s are good too!

Good idea on the short servo extension on the tail servo! I use one on my ESC wire, so I can snag Data logs...
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:22 AM   #10
pxpep
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motogp4me View Post
Does anyone know if the AR7200BX supports the use of a multi-blade heads. I would like to know if it supports the adjustment of phase.
It do and with the use of a little piece of software "BeastX Microsettings" adjustment of swash plate phasing is also possible.
pxpep is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:35 AM   #11
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default

Is it ok to put the satellite on the skids? Usually I have it mounted on the rear servo, but the antenna of the AR7200BX is already on that side. I was thinking of mounting the satellite on the rear right skid.
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 04:59 PM   #12
Deet
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,532
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Australia
Default

it will work but would be very vulnerably in a hard landing, why not try it on top of the boom block
__________________
Dave
Goblin 500, Vbar, BLS153, BLS251, Kontronic Jive & Piro
MutliWiiCopter Scarab Stealth Armour,Scarab Stealth Reconn V3, Scarab TriiKopta, Scarab Octa, Scarab Vampire
Deet is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:47 PM   #13
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deet View Post
it will work but would be very vulnerably in a hard landing, why not try it on top of the boom block
If i put it on the top of the boom block, does routing the long antenna from the AR7200BX along the tail boom brace sound like a good location?
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:23 PM   #14
Deet
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,532
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Australia
Default

as long as it is at right angles to the sat antenna
__________________
Dave
Goblin 500, Vbar, BLS153, BLS251, Kontronic Jive & Piro
MutliWiiCopter Scarab Stealth Armour,Scarab Stealth Reconn V3, Scarab TriiKopta, Scarab Octa, Scarab Vampire
Deet is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #15
Maypole
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,298
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duytang View Post
If i put it on the top of the boom block, does routing the long antenna from the AR7200BX along the tail boom brace sound like a good location?
If you run the antenna along a boom brace, don't secure it tightly. Maybe fab some hoops of some kind to route it through. In the event of a tail first crash, you could pull the antenna out of the unit if it is fastened to the brace.
__________________
Nano CP X, mCP X BL, 130 X (Love the little ones)T-REX 500 Efl Pro DFC
Phoenix Sim, DX8, Gibson Les Paul, AMA #987871
"If a law is unjust, a man is not only right to disobey it, he is obligated to do so." Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by Maypole; 02-17-2012 at 08:00 AM..
Maypole is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 05:18 PM   #16
duytang
Registered Users
 
Posts: 684
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmonton
Default

Thanks!

I finally have some time today to do some setup programming. If I bind without a satellite, do I have to rebind when my satellite comes?
__________________
I'm getting out of the hobby so if you need to contact me, you can email me at my Paypal address if I don't reply on here. Thanks
duytang is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:17 PM   #17
snjbird
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL USA
Default

yup
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:23 PM   #18
hobdean
Registered Users
 
Posts: 452
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: texas
Default

Glad you did this rebuild , I am thinking of getting this gyro system. Will my dx6i work with this system?
hobdean is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:05 PM   #19
kenkadish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dewitt, NY, USA
Default

Just FMI (for my information) why would you have to rebind if adding a satellite?

Ken
__________________
Blade SR - 865 flights; Blade MCPX - 915 flights
Trex 450 Sport - 684 flights; Trex 450 Pro DFC - 160 flights
Trex 500e - 212 flights; Blade 300x - 300 flights - Trex 550 DFC - 48 flights; Blade 130x - 80 flights........Learning every day!
kenkadish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:23 PM   #20
snjbird
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL USA
Default

Every spektrum RX has it's own serial number, and you have to tell the TX to talk to that unit,
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com