Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDS Helicopters and Electronics


KDS Helicopters and Electronics KDS Helicopters and Electronics Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2011, 03:51 PM   #1
graaf33
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: norway,lk
Default flymentor or gyro problem?

hello everyone hope someone can help me!

i have an kds flymentor 450 heli. Something is wrong an since i am a newbie i have to get som help.

take a look at this video i made.


it happens every now and then, 1 time per battery.

starts when i lift or when i'am half meter in air.
all the servos goes out of controll, as you can se my controller is on the ground when i film this. to turn this of i have to cut battery.

thanks for any reply.

Harald
graaf33 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

This is a difficult one but I would guess this is a power supply problem. Low volts can cause this.
Does it happen when you power up or only when you are trying to fly ?.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:22 AM   #3
graaf33
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: norway,lk
Default

It happens when it starts to Lift or when iam half meter in air
graaf33 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:50 PM   #4
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graaf33 View Post
It happens when it starts to Lift or when iam half meter in air
It could be as simple as a faulty battery. You need to temporarily re-wire and get a reciever battery pack so that the pack is powering up the reciever and not the esc.
Or fit a seperate BEC, or fit a new ESC the built in BEC.
It may be that you have a faulty FM but I do not think so.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 10:25 AM   #5
Madryan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Default known issue

kds anfomred me some time back that its simply that the system does not always initialise ... i found that the issue i had similar to this was that the camera did not see enough contrast ... but typically teh camera was to component that always caused me grief... and often it would take me two or three re-starts to intialise the mentor...i dont use it anymore...its just not reliable enough to have any faith in compared to say teh ZYX for 56 bucks !!

thats was my experience with my KDS .... also now i recall my camera lense covering ...had some scratches on it.. when i got rid of the cler cover it worked fine...as my lense was alittle offset and seemed to pick up the opaque portion of teh proective cover... its a shame you cant leave teh camera unplugged and just utilise teh gyro for stabilisation mode...


cheers
Madryan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madryan View Post
kds anfomred me some time back that its simply that the system does not always initialise ... i found that the issue i had similar to this was that the camera did not see enough contrast ... but typically teh camera was to component that always caused me grief... and often it would take me two or three re-starts to intialise the mentor...i dont use it anymore...its just not reliable enough to have any faith in compared to say teh ZYX for 56 bucks !!

thats was my experience with my KDS .... also now i recall my camera lense covering ...had some scratches on it.. when i got rid of the cler cover it worked fine...as my lense was alittle offset and seemed to pick up the opaque portion of teh proective cover... its a shame you cant leave teh camera unplugged and just utilise teh gyro for stabilisation mode...


cheers
You can leave the camera unplugged and just use balance mode. Many guys have done it.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 05:52 AM   #7
Morvin
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Norway, Bergen
Default

I have same heli but decided to remove the Flymentor. Your video indicates snow on the ground meaning low outside temperatures. FM3 needs at leat 15 min temperature stabilisation before you can fly if you move the heli from warm inhouse temperatures to outside winter conditions. FM is very sensitive to temperatures. I experienced a totally uncontrollable heli exept during warm summer conditions. The KDS 450SV is very stable without the FM3. Remove the FM and enjoy good flying. Good luck. Regards Morvin in Bergen.
Morvin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:26 PM   #8
n1977m
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Default 3G Head

I'm looking for a 3G gyro head for a Flymentor. Mine is kaput and I don't want to have to buy an entire new system to get one. If anyone has a spare or a trashed system with a good gyro unit then I would be interested in it. Email me at m.ladigo@cox.net.
Thanks.
Mike
n1977m is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
450 clone, flymentor, gyro, kds, problem




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDS Helicopters and Electronics


KDS Helicopters and Electronics KDS Helicopters and Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com