Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Beam Avantgarde 600


Beam Avantgarde 600 Beam Avantgarde 600 Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 08:29 AM   #1
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default Avantgarde

Just ordered a new kit and very eager to start the build!
Anyone got any tips or things i should look out for in the build? Also, what would be a good power system? 12s seems popular, but i'm wondering if it would be too much for my novice skills.

Mods, any chance we can get a dedicated forum or subforum for all things Avantgarde?
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
Rotosmasher
Registered Users
 
Posts: 42
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Australia
Default Avantgarde 600

Congrats on the purchase. I have been flying mine since December here in South Oz. I was advised to use loctite very sparingly and not tension the screws too tight. Otherwise it went together very well. What FBL system are you going to use? I have a BeastX bur with the AR7200BX available that is the way to go with a satellite. I am running 6S and I am fairly inexperienced. My set-up is a Scorpion 4025-1100kv, Castle 120 HV with CC Bec Pro, 5000mah Turnigy 40c packs. I fly to 3.8v and easily get 4'30". I'm running Radix 600V2 blades and Edge 92 tails.
__________________
You are only as good as your next crash.
Rotosmasher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:37 AM   #3
w_prasit
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Thailand
Default

try to see assembly from Fabian as below:

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=355647


My concern points:

- align center of pinion and main gear / and check a very small gap between pinion and main gear according to the manual

- main gear must move up and down a little but main shaft must not be moved.

- suitable motor is Scorpion series 4025, recommend old version 8 poles (shaft 6mm) is enough. new version is 10 poles which give more power but consume more current also. BEAM E6 is very light weight so Scorpion 4025 old version is enough. select motor KV to match with your lipo config. I recommend config 12S

- ESC, recommend Hobbywing Platinum 120A HV

- FBL control unit, BEAST X or mini Vbar



Welcome to BEAM E6 gang, you will love it

w_prasit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:31 AM   #4
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

Ive got a 7200bx in me beam e4 v2 so i'll be getting another for the new bird.
The build wont start for a little while yet till i have the funds available for the rest of the needed components. So i dont have to decide on anything else just yet
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 04:49 AM   #5
R3L72
Registered Users
 
Posts: 815
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Utah...U.S.A.!!!
Talking AvantGarde Greatness!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotosmasher View Post
Congrats on the purchase. I have been flying mine since December here in South Oz. I was advised to use loctite very sparingly and not tension the screws too tight. Otherwise it went together very well. What FBL system are you going to use? I have a BeastX bur with the AR7200BX available that is the way to go with a satellite. I am running 6S and I am fairly inexperienced. My set-up is a Scorpion 4025-1100kv, Castle 120 HV with CC Bec Pro, 5000mah Turnigy 40c packs. I fly to 3.8v and easily get 4'30". I'm running Radix 600V2 blades and Edge 92 tails.
Rotosmasher, I'm Definitely purchasing this kit but need to get all the components in line. I too would love to stay with 6S high discharge Lipo packs for now so I'm looking at a setup similar to yours...hope that's alright.

With the AR7200BX, I have one that's on another kit but may I ask how you attached the satellite? I was also looking at the BeastX Microbeast with the V3 software and with that one, there's a Sat cable sold separately...same cable for use with the AR7200BX?

Thanks! Hey All, when's the AvantGarde going to get it's own sticky?
__________________
ACTIVE FLEET: Align >< BLADE >< Walkera
...living the Hobby 4+ minutes at a time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R3L72 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 02:46 AM   #6
Rotosmasher
Registered Users
 
Posts: 42
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Australia
Default

I still have the BeastX on mine but I am using a separate rreceiver and the satellite plugs into that. WIth the AR7200BX the satellite plugs into the middle position where the servos plug. There is a satellite connector there.
__________________
You are only as good as your next crash.
Rotosmasher is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 03:14 AM   #7
R3L72
Registered Users
 
Posts: 815
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Utah...U.S.A.!!!
Post Thanks!

Thanks! With the AR7200BX, I can add the other Sat and make it all good to go.

Pricing everything up, I'll Definitely need to stick with 6S for now. I guess it's to be expected for a 600 Class Heli, but the price of the Electronics is almost double what I've bought for my 450s...sans the FBL Controller. But then I look at a photo of the AvantGarde...and I want to pay for it all anyways, laughs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotosmasher View Post
I still have the BeastX on mine but I am using a separate rreceiver and the satellite plugs into that. WIth the AR7200BX the satellite plugs into the middle position where the servos plug. There is a satellite connector there.
__________________
ACTIVE FLEET: Align >< BLADE >< Walkera
...living the Hobby 4+ minutes at a time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R3L72 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:25 AM   #8
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

Well its been about 7 months since i bought the kit, lost my job. so i had to put all heli plans on hold... Finally, i've saved the money and ordered all the electronics to get this bad boy in the air.

I've got the airframe built and eagerly awaiting the delivery of the rest of my gear..

I do have a couple of concerns though...

How do you get the main grip bearings out to grease the thrust bearings without damaging them?
And i'm installing savox brushless HV servos all round, and a AR7200BX. I've heard that the beastx can't handle the high current demands of brushless HV servos. Is this correct? I was planning to run it on unregulated 2s. Is there some sort of power bus that i can get to avoid damaging my beastx?
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:38 PM   #9
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

Well my parcel from amain turned up today, so it looks like I'll be busy over the weekend installing and wiring up the electronics

Stay tuned for pics...
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:54 AM   #10
R3L72
Registered Users
 
Posts: 815
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Utah...U.S.A.!!!
Thumbs up Great News

Awesome! I feel I also have an addiction to receiving packages from AMain, laughs!

I'm looking forward to hearing/seeing your build. My plans for building a Avantgarde are on hold as I'm not feeling ready to tackle a bigger Heli; I'll concentrate more on my 450s and 500 first.

Plus the cost of components almost triples in the 600 sized Helis...eventually I'll get there.

Hope your build and flight go Smoothly Lowey79!
__________________
ACTIVE FLEET: Align >< BLADE >< Walkera
...living the Hobby 4+ minutes at a time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R3L72 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

IT FLIES!!!!! I maidened it this morning in nice calm conditions, everything went well, with no vibes or anything strange... it just worked! Been a long project, but im glad I took my time!

Still no pics yet, I'll take some later and post them up!

lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:25 AM   #12
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

Here we go as promised










Had 3 successful flights today with a little inverted, flips, loops and piro stall turns.
pretty happy with the way it flew... a tweak on tail gain and dial 3 on my ar7200bx and it's almost perfect... good enough for my amateur skills anyhow.

lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:40 PM   #13
scanner62
Registered Users
 
Posts: 418
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aus
Default

Gee from the quality finish there, my guess that's not the first you've done. Noiiice, great job on the wiring harness. Looks great, i bet your proud of that one eh?
scanner62 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:17 AM   #14
RasmusDK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 502
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denmark
Default Sv: Avantgarde

Yes, that looks sweet.

And congratiolations with the succesfull maiden

Best regards
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:56 AM   #15
lowey79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vic. Australia
Default

Yeah, that was the first wiring job I did on this heli. I've since rewired it and turned the 7200bx around so the wires point forward. Don't have any pictures of that though.
Thanks for the compliments. I take a lot of time to hide my wiring, I like it to look clean.
__________________
Wayne
Rush 750, vortex vx1. Warp 360, vortex vx1n. 130x.

Doctor, I need help with my heli addiction
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:22 AM   #16
scanner62
Registered Users
 
Posts: 418
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aus
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowey79 View Post
Yeah, that was the first wiring job I did on this heli. I've since rewired it and turned the 7200bx around so the wires point forward. Don't have any pictures of that though.
Thanks for the compliments. I take a lot of time to hide my wiring, I like it to look clean.
And so it does, so it does. Does it fly the way you wanted and any updates?

Im about to receive a (slightly used) airframe/blades/cyclics setup and in a cpl weks get a Outrage motor for it, then a ESC and finally the FBL(still deciding here).

Well i hope its been as good to you as it looks and hope i can do mine justice after having seen this one. I might get a spare canopy and do a custom paint on it though(keep the original for when it becomes a hangar queen lol).

Keep it in the AIR!!!!

Regards
scanner62 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Beam Avantgarde 600


Beam Avantgarde 600 Beam Avantgarde 600 Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com