Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,633
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default 'Delay" setting mystery explained

Yes, I'm using the GT5 also. "0.035 / 0.050" are for the servo speed... but careful, the GT5 applies this value per 45 degrees, whereas servo manufacturer usually gives you for 60 degrees.







Thanks Zb ! i've been scratching my head on that one! Stoopid 1/2 info !
Oh and to add to the confusion it was called 'delay' not rate , why not just call it speed

Last edited by mrultralite; 04-16-2012 at 09:35 PM..
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:47 AM   #2
vic7322
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Marlboro
Default

can someone explain this again?? I think my delay is off for my ds650 and its causing drift issues
vic7322 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:34 PM   #3
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,633
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

The GT5 has a setting called 'delay' in the servo menu. Go to the servo manufacturs website and look up servo speed for your servo, then recalculate from 60 to 45 proportionately.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:05 PM   #4
vic7322
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Marlboro
Default

AH Thank You....
Motion speed: 0.058sec/60(4.8V), 0.048sec/60(6.0V)
Im gonna try running .036 on 6v. Hopefully that will help solve my tail drift issues
vic7322 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 09:35 AM   #5
NitroAl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Default

Increase the deadband! Set the delay too low could damage the servo!
__________________
CustomHeliParts/KDE TRex 700N
ThunderTiger X50 FBL
Ely.Q Vision 90
Ely.Q Vision 50
NitroAl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,633
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

Al, But whats too low? mystery here is finding right setting in an information vacuum. Whats the right deadband setting?
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 03:38 PM   #7
vic7322
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Marlboro
Default

Im confused, What dead band for the tail are you talking about... Is it in the P/I menu? or is it in the menu that looks like a tx stick?? Should I increase the dead band so the servo is not always adjusting?
vic7322 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:58 PM   #8
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,633
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

Easiest way to find this stuff is the 'configurations table' sheet that comes with the unit. Tail DB is in the P/I tail menu.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 02:41 AM   #9
NitroAl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Default

As Mrultralite has pointed the configurations table can be a useful guide! In the second column under E720 they cover the SV1258TG and SV1290MG which are the Savox versions of the DS610 and DS650 and also the Spektrum H6040 and whatever there tail servo is. So on some settings the answers are all there ;-)
__________________
CustomHeliParts/KDE TRex 700N
ThunderTiger X50 FBL
Ely.Q Vision 90
Ely.Q Vision 50
NitroAl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:57 PM   #10
MLC1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Melbourne, FL
Default

I am running the Align servo's. I went thru and reset them to the E720>SV servo settings on the configuarations table. I am now at .045/.050 and the SU Fre was bumpped down to 166. Seems to fly ok.

How would you calculate this if they setting were not availble?
MLC1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:28 PM   #11
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,633
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

The GT5 has a setting called 'delay' in the servo menu. Go to the servo manufacturs website and look up servo speed for your servo, then recalculate from 60 to 45 proportionately.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:35 AM   #12
Oilsands
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

To calculate the speed I took the spec given for 60, devided by 60 then multiplied by 45.
So as an example: if I had a servo that had 0.18/60 degree at 4.8 v, then I would take 0.18 devided by 60 then multiplied by 45 = value to enter.
Oilsands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:16 AM   #13
Oilsands
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vic7322 View Post
AH Thank You....
Motion speed: 0.058sec/60(4.8V), 0.048sec/60(6.0V)
Im gonna try running .036 on 6v. Hopefully that will help solve my tail drift issues
Yes, max of .045 at 4.8 v or .036 at 6 v
Oilsands is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com