Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Gryphon Electronics


Gryphon Electronics Gryphon Electronics Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 02:50 PM   #1
baui2000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Default Is it possible to run HV rudder servo through Gryphon GVR-7020B Voltage Regulator?

I intend to use the Gryphon GVR-7020B to run high voltage setup on a Fusion 50. I'd like to use a HV rudder servo too, but the wiring diagrams show always gyro and tail servo being powered through the low voltage receiver circuit.
Is it possible (or better, is there an empty slot on the GVR) to connect the rudder servo to the Gryphons HV circuit and run only the signal wire through v-bar? I don't want run the whole thing including v-bar straight off the 2S pack and make the v-bar act as a HV power bus. I'd be grateful if someone who tried this chimed in.

Thanks
__________________
Tom
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Lynx Heli Innovations
Goblin 700
V-Bar Silverline, Quantum 4530-500, YGE 160HV-K, MKS HBL 950/HBL980
Prtos Mini
Brain
baui2000 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
flerpie
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,634
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: What? Me crash?
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baui2000 View Post
I intend to use the Gryphon GVR-7020B to run high voltage setup on a Fusion 50. I'd like to use a HV rudder servo too, but the wiring diagrams show always gyro and tail servo being powered through the low voltage receiver circuit.
Is it possible (or better, is there an empty slot on the GVR) to connect the rudder servo to the Gryphons HV circuit and run only the signal wire through v-bar? I don't want run the whole thing including v-bar straight off the 2S pack and make the v-bar act as a HV power bus. I'd be grateful if someone who tried this chimed in.

Thanks
I too am looking at the gryphon regulators. What you want can certainly
be done no matter whose regulator one has. However, the vaguarities
associated with each regulator and each piece of hardware have to be
researched and applied. I am positive that the gryphon manuals detail the
different plug-in ports available. Whether or not 1 would be free to use
for your purposes could depend on your particular wiring configuration.

I routinely seperate off the servo power and grounds and run them over to
a common point - but that common point is NOT the back of any gyro
or Rx. I do that to reduce wiring clutter and potential wire tension on a gyro.
4 servos that plug into a common point on an Rx or a Gyro = 8 wires
that could be connected somewhere else and still provide everything.
As long as the servo grounds and servo power supply wires go to the right places
AND those places also connect to the rx and/or gyro power supply pins
then you are golden.

They do not have to go to a common connection point physically located
at a common connector residing on a gyro or Rx. But I take my wiring to
extremes and void all warranties immediately upon receipt of any product.

Leave the signal wires going where they would normally go.
Route off the power and grounds for the servos and tie them all together.
(reds tied together....blacks tied together).
Also tie the gyro and rx to the same power and grounds with the servos.

The wherewithall required for an extensive rewire job may not be for all folks.
And it's just too hard for me to predict where I would physically locate
a power bus and ground bus without actual hardware in front of my eyes.
Plus...I don't have a vbar...ubeast here. But the same concept of wiring
applies regardless. Or at least good pics...and plenty of research and manual reading.

Maybe some else has a yes/no answer and a quick how-to.
__________________
HK Best Of Custom 450s & 500
Build Different!
flerpie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:29 AM   #3
baui2000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Default

I did some more in depth research and one thing kept escaping me the whole time. Mine is an electric, so no throttle servo will be needed. That leaves a free slot for one servo on the Gryphons bus I can use for rudder.

I was a bit undecided if to take the voltage regulator path or as you say, simple power bus. The thing that keeps bothering me is a possible Spektrum receiver brownout caused by drop in Rx pack voltage. VR should be able to keep the power somewhat stable throughout the flight and I don't have to worry about power drops anywhere in the system.
__________________
Tom
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Lynx Heli Innovations
Goblin 700
V-Bar Silverline, Quantum 4530-500, YGE 160HV-K, MKS HBL 950/HBL980
Prtos Mini
Brain
baui2000 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 09:51 PM   #4
flerpie
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,634
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: What? Me crash?
Default

Well, I use a power bus located on the regulated side of the VR.
But that could be servo dependant. I don't like running 8.4v servos
directly from a 2S lipo. I'd rather provide regulated 8.4 from the main pack.

Next build will have 12Vdc servos - so there will be a separate VR doing 12V
for the servos....and 12V bus.

Depending on what the upper limit of the ubeast and Rx supply voltage can be
there will most likely be a 2nd VR for just those 2 things. There will be cameras
and some other electronics that will run from this VR too.

Sounds like your biggest need is just an open slot somewhere to tap off.
__________________
HK Best Of Custom 450s & 500
Build Different!
flerpie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #5
Fabien
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baui2000 View Post
I intend to use the Gryphon GVR-7020B to run high voltage setup on a Fusion 50. I'd like to use a HV rudder servo too, but the wiring diagrams show always gyro and tail servo being powered through the low voltage receiver circuit.
Is it possible (or better, is there an empty slot on the GVR) to connect the rudder servo to the Gryphons HV circuit and run only the signal wire through v-bar? I don't want run the whole thing including v-bar straight off the 2S pack and make the v-bar act as a HV power bus. I'd be grateful if someone who tried this chimed in.

Thanks
Hi,

the schematics are showoing separate channel for the Tail servos if, and only if you are using a lower voltage tail servo than the swashplate servos.

If your tail servo and all swash servos are HV for example, you can for sure use the 4th channel of the GVR 7020 to power the tail servo, the Vbar will be fed with 5.2 V when plugged on the receiver bus, simply

Signal is filtered on the GVR 7020 to avoid signal fluctuation because of the power bus so there is no risk about it.

Best regards,

Fabien
Fabien is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:59 AM   #6
baui2000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Default

Nice! Thanks Fabien
__________________
Tom
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Lynx Heli Innovations
Goblin 700
V-Bar Silverline, Quantum 4530-500, YGE 160HV-K, MKS HBL 950/HBL980
Prtos Mini
Brain
baui2000 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:24 AM   #7
Fabien
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Default

You are welcome

BEst regards,
Fabien
Fabien is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:36 AM   #8
agjoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 272
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Malaysia
Default

Hi i'm thinking to use GVR as a normal regulator when using AR7200bx just plug one wire to an open servo slot (out) with 7.4v output to ar7200bx because i dont like to much wiring.can that be harm to ar7200.
__________________
A BAD DAY OF FLYING BEATS A GOOD DAY AT WORK !!!
agjoe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:30 AM   #9
Fabien
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Default

HI,

one wire will be a bit limited, as it will have to power up the AR7200 " Beast X" part, receiver part and all servos. If one wire fails in the aire then no power at all to any of these components...

Fitting the complete wire set is not so hard and with a bit of patience you will be able to have a clean installation

As i do not know the pinout ( especially the grounding, if it is common to all servos or not), hard to tell you if it's possible to install all the wires or not on the 7200 BX but i guess it's exactly the same as BEast X.

I'll try to dig out the information over the week end and will let you know

BEst regards,

Fabien
Fabien is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Gryphon Electronics


Gryphon Electronics Gryphon Electronics Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com