Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 12:06 AM   #1
rz1a
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,040
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburg, TX
Default Thoughts on gt5?

I have a gt5 I never setup at all. Is it easy to? Is it reliable?
rz1a is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:14 AM   #2
nbells
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Default

Not as easy as an AR7200BX !

I guess its a case of the more you fiddle with it, the easier it becomes.

I ditched my GT5.1 in favor of an AR7200BX unit and was flying within 30 mins !

This by no means says the GT5 is rubbish .. its just not as easy to setup as other units.

I also found the finger slide, double tap, on the side not sensitive enough for me !

Reliable ? ..... imo, yes, a wee bit better than certain other units !

Nigel
__________________
Nigel.
A few little tiddlers ..SR, 300X, TRex 500E Pro with DFC, Trex 700DFC..... and quite a few Planks and Tanks !
nbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:57 AM   #3
rz1a
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,040
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburg, TX
Default

Should I make use of it? I have a 700 I'm going to put a beast x on since I already have one, and my 600e doesn't have a unit yet but I do have the GT5.
rz1a is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:12 PM   #4
nbells
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rz1a View Post
Should I make use of it? .
Yes of course..... never waste anything !

Nigel
__________________
Nigel.
A few little tiddlers ..SR, 300X, TRex 500E Pro with DFC, Trex 700DFC..... and quite a few Planks and Tanks !
nbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:17 PM   #5
dophuc
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VietNam
Default an awesome flybarless system

GT5 is an awesome flybarless system. Not easy setup and take more time to tunning, you should read manual carefully (manual for GT5.1) step by step.
Goodluck
dophuc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:19 AM   #6
karlp
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dophuc View Post
GT5 is an awesome flybarless system. Not easy setup and take more time to tunning, you should read manual carefully (manual for GT5.1) step by step.
Goodluck
What he said
Once you understand it there is no better.
karlp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:20 AM   #7
Himilou
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,502
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle
Default

Anyone using this on a Nitro? Seems like Thunder Tiger should be especially good at engineering a FBL unit for nitros.....
__________________
Gaui X5 FBL w BeastX!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yesssssss!
"The Big T" TRex600N OS 50 +Flybar!
Synergy N5 O.S.55 Spartan Vortex
Himilou is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:43 PM   #8
rz1a
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,040
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburg, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Himilou View Post
Anyone using this on a Nitro? Seems like Thunder Tiger should be especially good at engineering a FBL unit for nitros.....
I'm gonna try mine on an electric but would have gone on my 600n if I didn't have a vbar.
rz1a is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:21 PM   #9
lowflyer101
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

its good fbl system,, fly great... but no support of whatever, when GT5 fist come out they said its upgrade able firmware,, (fail safe ... et) but no whatever.. now GT5.1 they said the same thing ..???
I love my GT5 (v1) but i am not going to get another one. other FBL system like beatX and Vbar they got update like on monthly basic... make it better and better... but Thundertiger (
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lowflyer101 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:13 AM   #10
1004ron
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,282
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Default

Once setup it flies great and is reliable, but you wont have the peace of mind knowing that you have a failsafe feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1004ron View Post
Out of all my FBL controllers, the flight characteristics of the GT5 V1 is about the best.

I really like the GT5, but would not buy another TT product because of the poor support and development - they must have know about the lack of failsafe and remained silent The setup is more complex.
I like having Rate Mode, which every other FBL controller has - not a deal breaker, put it's on the list of dislikes.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SAB Goblin 700 - CCHV120 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 / 450 Pro - GT5 - Tarot head / T-Rex 550 V2.1 - CC100 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 /
1004ron is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:50 AM   #11
Bladecpnitro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,209
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Griffin Ga, United States
Default

Im guessing no failsafe means if you loose signal the FBL unit wont level the blades and zero the pitch?
__________________
DX 7, Trex 550E-MicroBeast-BLS251. 450 Pro, FBL, Belt, GT-5.1 KST 115, Futaba 9257, Scorpion 10 on 4S (!)
If its fixed don't break it!
Bladecpnitro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:04 PM   #12
lowflyer101
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladecpnitro View Post
Im guessing no failsafe means if you loose signal the FBL unit wont level the blades and zero the pitch?
fail safe till turn off the motor when signal lost... with no failsafe the motor will go on and it kinda dangerou,, , when you lost while climb up,, then it will climb up till it land in moon
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lowflyer101 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:47 PM   #13
Bladecpnitro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,209
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Griffin Ga, United States
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyer101 View Post
fail safe till turn off the motor when signal lost... with no failsafe the motor will go on and it kinda dangerou,, , when you lost while climb up,, then it will climb up till it land in moon

Well I guess I'll strike this nice gyro off my list then. It sure is pretty though, dogonit.
__________________
DX 7, Trex 550E-MicroBeast-BLS251. 450 Pro, FBL, Belt, GT-5.1 KST 115, Futaba 9257, Scorpion 10 on 4S (!)
If its fixed don't break it!
Bladecpnitro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:38 AM   #14
NitroAl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Default

Failsafe is only an issue if you don't use a reciever, even then failsafe is a croc of s4it! How often do you lose signal? I have not even seen it myself and loss of power will render failsafe useless!
Forget failsafe, it is for plankers and makes no difference to a helicoptor!
__________________
CustomHeliParts/KDE TRex 700N
ThunderTiger X50 FBL
Ely.Q Vision 90
Ely.Q Vision 50
NitroAl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:57 PM   #15
1004ron
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,282
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroAl View Post
Failsafe is only an issue if you don't use a reciever, even then failsafe is a croc of s4it! How often do you lose signal? I have not even seen it myself and loss of power will render failsafe useless!
Forget failsafe, it is for plankers and makes no difference to a helicoptor!
The risk of the RX losing signal is low, however is does happen and when it does we should make sure that it's as safe as we can make it.

I had an issue with the Vibe alert on my DX8 TX which caused a loss of signal, and when that happened the motor power was cut, which I had selected as the failsafe action.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SAB Goblin 700 - CCHV120 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 / 450 Pro - GT5 - Tarot head / T-Rex 550 V2.1 - CC100 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 /
1004ron is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:36 AM   #16
Bladecpnitro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,209
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Griffin Ga, United States
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroAl View Post
Failsafe is only an issue if you don't use a reciever, even then failsafe is a croc of s4it! How often do you lose signal? I have not even seen it myself and loss of power will render failsafe useless!
Forget failsafe, it is for plankers and makes no difference to a helicoptor!

Oh great! I'll just continue to use my RX then. I'm wanting to try the TT GT-5.1 one on my 450. That or a Microbeast, the Microbeast just looks bulky on a 450.
__________________
DX 7, Trex 550E-MicroBeast-BLS251. 450 Pro, FBL, Belt, GT-5.1 KST 115, Futaba 9257, Scorpion 10 on 4S (!)
If its fixed don't break it!
Bladecpnitro is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:59 PM   #17
MikeSmith
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA IL Savoy
Default

I bout a used one off of a guy on here and it is junk, when I dubble tap the pad nothing happens, it I keep tapping and tapping then it might but by that time it has moved to a diffrent place up or down and I got no where, if it wasn"t for that it might not be to bad.
MikeSmith is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:22 AM   #18
NitroAl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Default

Don't worry Mike, it's not junk! You will develop a feel for the double tap in no time!
__________________
CustomHeliParts/KDE TRex 700N
ThunderTiger X50 FBL
Ely.Q Vision 90
Ely.Q Vision 50
NitroAl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:57 AM   #19
Laurens
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oegstgeest/ EHGR, the Netherlands
Default

I don't have any issues at all with double tapping.
__________________
Voodoo 400/Jeti DS16
Laurens is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:48 PM   #20
Bladecpnitro
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,209
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Griffin Ga, United States
Default

I have a Gt-5 on the way. I found it used here on Helifreak. Also ordered a FBL Head as well. I'm looking forward to trying it.

I've been so happy with my Futaba GY 520/S9257 I hated to part with it. I wouldn't have fooled with FBL but my FB head has a good bit of slop in it especially on the main shaft.
I hope the tail is as good as the GY 520. That's the best tail I've ever had.
__________________
DX 7, Trex 550E-MicroBeast-BLS251. 450 Pro, FBL, Belt, GT-5.1 KST 115, Futaba 9257, Scorpion 10 on 4S (!)
If its fixed don't break it!
Bladecpnitro is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com