Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 05:26 AM   #1
bobloblaw
Registered Users
 
Posts: 832
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Default Telemetry Questions

Trying to put together a shopping list for a 14SG and have a couple of questions.
Is there more than one receiver option available that supports telemetry apart from the R7008SB? I see Robbe have a few to choose from.
Is telemetry data logged and saved for inspection after a flight?
__________________
SAB Goblin 500
SAB Goblin 700
Jeti DS-16
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:22 AM   #2
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

If the Robbe RX (R6308SBT) is approved for use in your country it is another option. It was granted an FCC ID last March here in the US, but so far has not been listed for sale anywhere.

As far as logging, no it is not "logged". However, at least on the 18MZ, you can see the current-Maximum-Minimum values on the TX before you shut the RX and TX off. Once you do that they are lost. I imagine the 14SG will do a similar thing.

I've heard rumors of actual data logging but not anything official so far.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:02 PM   #3
bobloblaw
Registered Users
 
Posts: 832
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Default

Thanks for the info. Without logging I'm no longer that interested I have to say. Might change over to Jeti.
__________________
SAB Goblin 500
SAB Goblin 700
Jeti DS-16
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:05 AM   #4
Intrepid175
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas City, Tx
Default

Hadn't really thought of that. It doesn't make that much sense without logging as you can't exactly keep an eye on the info while flying the aircraft. For me personally, what I'm interested in is monitoring the flight batteries. For now, the rest of it is just fluff, information that's interesting to know but hardly flight critical. Oh well.

I've still got a 14SG on order though!

Fly Safe,
Steve R.

Last edited by Intrepid175; 12-09-2012 at 10:51 PM..
Intrepid175 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:50 PM   #5
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

While in flight you can set the telemetry to announce the current reading either all the time, at set intervals, or when you flip a switch.

When you land you can look at the screen before shutting down everything and see the current value plus the High and Low value for a given sensor.

Plus you can set alarms for each of the sensors.

So while post flight logging for later analysis would be another nice feature I feel it is wrong to imply that the telemetry is worthless now. You can get all the info you need without ever taking your eyes off you heli.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:08 PM   #6
bobloblaw
Registered Users
 
Posts: 832
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Default

I can't see where anyone has said or even implied that telemetry is worthless - I certainly think its very valuable. Just very surprised that logging isn't offered. There is no shortage of processing power available to do this.
__________________
SAB Goblin 500
SAB Goblin 700
Jeti DS-16
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:00 AM   #7
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Sorry, I must have misunderstood. When someone says that they are no longer interested because loggin is not yet available I take that to mean they do not think the telemetry is worth having without logging.

It does log in the sense that the high and low are retained, and I have found that to be very useful.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com