Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FMA/Revolectrix Product Support


FMA/Revolectrix Product Support FMA/Revolectrix Factory Product Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 05:39 AM   #1
thomascoleman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 738
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London
Default Powerlab 8 v2 leads

instead of using this to connect to my PSU




Can i use this ?

http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/dyn5...na-p-8013.html
__________________
DX18 | Goblin 700 Comp LTD-E BeastX Plus | T-Rex 700N PRO DFC AR7200BX | T-Rex 600N PRO DFC AR7200BX | Logo 480XGPRO | 300 CFX |
thomascoleman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:06 AM   #2
jdd1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 180
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aubrey, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomascoleman View Post
instead of using this to connect to my PSU




Can i use this ?

http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/dyn5...na-p-8013.html
Hi Thomas,

Yes, if the male banana plugs are rated at 60 amps @ 24 volts; that is if you want or need to run the PL8 at full capacity. I have seen the plastic housing around the banana plugs melt under high current demands. Just verify the bananas are rated up to 60 amps.

Jack
__________________
Jack Doherty
FMA Beta Tester
CoPilot II HD
PowerLab 8
jdd1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:45 AM   #3
Tim Marks
Registered Users
 
Posts: 398
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdd1 View Post
Hi Thomas,

Yes, if the male banana plugs are rated at 60 amps @ 24 volts; that is if you want or need to run the PL8 at full capacity. I have seen the plastic housing around the banana plugs melt under high current demands. Just verify the bananas are rated up to 60 amps.

Jack
Hi:

I can tell just by looking at that image that there's no way in he double toothpick those banana plugs will manage 60A. It'd likely to be more like 15A-20A. If you use that cable, be sure to limit the input current on the PL to no more than 20A. The reason I am so confident to say this is that those are not even solder connection style banana jacks. See the little screws on the side of the plastic housing? Last time a guy tried using something like those on the output of the PL8 (which can only achieve 40A), we posted the photos he sent us in an online forum as a "what not to do". They banana plugs got so hot, they melted the plastic housings. Not a pretty sight to see!

It's not that easy to find banana plugs that will even achieve the 40A output rating of the PL8, much less the 60A required on the input for max power.

60A is not chump change as far as current goes. It demands respect.
__________________
Tim Marks
President, FMA, Inc.
Tim Marks is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:03 PM   #4
thomascoleman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 738
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London
Default

got a link for the correct cables?
__________________
DX18 | Goblin 700 Comp LTD-E BeastX Plus | T-Rex 700N PRO DFC AR7200BX | T-Rex 600N PRO DFC AR7200BX | Logo 480XGPRO | 300 CFX |
thomascoleman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:48 PM   #5
Tim Marks
Registered Users
 
Posts: 398
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomascoleman View Post
got a link for the correct cables?
Hi:

Sure. Although these are intended to be used on the output of PowerLab Battery Workstations, they would be work a lot better than the cable you showed, except that you'd have to be able to solder on your own EC5 connector. Here are the links:

http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...a-Plug-Cable_2

These cables are manufactured by soldering the 4mm banana plug to 12AWG silicon jacket wire, not screw terminals. The length of the actual contact area is also longer than a traditional banana plug or 4mm bullet connector and it is good quality. These will handle 40A without any trouble, but not 60A. To my knowledge there is no 4mm banana plug that will take the full 60A PL8 can draw. So, you'd still need to set your input current level accordingly.

We also have the EC5 connectors available in M/F pairs:

http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...EC5-Connectors

Hope this helps!
__________________
Tim Marks
President, FMA, Inc.
Tim Marks is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:09 PM   #6
ferrari458italian
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Default

Hi Tim,

Would this also work between power supply and powerlab 8 with the EC5 connection?

Thanks

M
ferrari458italian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:15 PM   #7
ferrari458italian
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Default

Sorry, forgot the link:

http://www.progressiverc.com/ec5-charge-cable.html

M
ferrari458italian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:57 PM   #8
spackermen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 832
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logan, UT
Default

Yes those will work for the input of the charger. But as Tim mentioned, the banana plugs will be the bottleneck. Not reccomended for the full 60A the charger is capable of pulling.
__________________
Respect My Authoritah!
spackermen is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FMA/Revolectrix Product Support


FMA/Revolectrix Product Support FMA/Revolectrix Factory Product Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com