Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,390
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default 18mz dual rates and expo combined by switch?

My 8FG allows me to set 'dual rates' and expo together and combine them by switch. As an example SG up is 100% throw and -20 expo. SG mid position is 90% throw and -20 expo etc.

Looking at the 18mz manual I don't see how this is possible. It looks as though you can set throw limits and expo together in the AFR/DR menu but set them only by condition? Dual rates can be assigned to a switch but I don't see how dual rates and expo can be combined and assigned to a switch like the 8FG? Thanks!
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:01 AM   #2
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

Yes, that's the way I would do it. I use conditions.
I didn't even know that one could assign dual rate directly to a switch.

1) Add a condition
2) Select the switch or combination of switch to select this condition
3) Select the new condition. Very important step or you will change values in an other one
4) Change any value related to the model for this condition
5) Add an other condition
6) ...repeat as above...


The conditions are not just a means to combine parameters. They are truly some set of parameters for a given part of the flight or a flight style.

For instance, you may have these four conditions :
- Normal (mandatory)
- Sport
- 3D
- Auto
And in each of these you may want to change the RPM, the dual rates, the expos, the timer and so on.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehof View Post
...It looks as though you can set throw limits and expo together in the AFR/DR menu but set them only by condition?...
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:10 AM   #3
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,390
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default

Thanks, I suppose I can live with that. I am picking up an 18mz this week. If I make a basic condition for my heli with throttle curves and pitch curves and everything else necessary, could I then 'copy' that condition to each new condition I want and then just change specific parameters like the throw rates and expo in the new condition?
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

Yes, from memory that's the purpose of the button 'Copy' that you can see on this screen : http://www.futaba-rc.com/systems/18m...112150502.html

I will try to find 5min to confirm this.
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:11 PM   #5
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,390
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default

I read a bit more of the manual and I can answer my own question. That copy button does indeed copy function so I can build the basic and then edit the others off the original after copy and renaming. Thanks for your help!
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:14 PM   #6
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,390
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default

FYI, for anyone following this thread. You CAN have up to 6 different control throw rates and or expo curves for each flight condition assigned to a switch or switches. That's 6 different combinations of throw and expo or just 6 different rates or just 6 different expo curves. Or any combo of the two up to 6 combos on any switch or switches as needed...
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com