Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default Starting FPV with Fatshark, Immersion and go pro

Getting ready to order up my first FPV setup but thought I should consult the FPV experts first on Heli Freak so I don't make too many beginner mistakes. I have been researching the FPV side of our hobby for about a year now and I think I know what would suit my needs. Please let me know what you think and let me know if I am missing anything or if I am buy the wrong equipment. I will be using this equipment on a small platform like my blade 400 or Trex 500 first but eventually I want to FPV my 700.

1. Fat shark Dominator Goggles-I picked these because I want a simple short range setup to learn on, I am planning on using the immersion RC Rx that mounts in the goggles with a helical receiving antenna.

2. Immersion RC 5.8GHz 600mw video Tx with the 5.8GHz circular polarized antenna from ImmersionRC and Fat Shark.

3. Go Pro Hero 2-I think most people choose this camera but I was also looking at the Horizon HD too but... it really just looked like it was similar to the go pro with out a case. I would like to be more flexible with the camera and I feel if I have the horizon HD I couldn't do other things with it like...skydiving.(not really)

I am some what worried about not using diversity receivers, a stronger Tx and a big setup but I really don't thing I will be going much further than 1500 to 2000 feet away and to start.

Anyways please feel free to let me know what you think.
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:03 AM   #2
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,949
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

I just ordered what you are describing to run on my F450 quad with my gopro.
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=781
Just add the OSD and swap the camera for the gopro cable and I think that matched your package exactly.

The research I have done says this should work pretty good for close "line of sight" flying. I tried the same setup on a friends glider and it was good most of the time. when the plane turned just the right angle it would block the signal. But a little turn would correct it. Never tried it on a Carbon Fiber helicopter though.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #3
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 841
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default Re: Starting FPV with Fatshark, Immersion and go pro

What you listed works really well, trust me. With a similar setup, I got over 2km range on the ground

You should note that if you plan on running long ranges, a good OSD will save you because you know where home is. Also you should record out of your rx so you have a way of looking at the GPS coordinates of your crash

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:25 PM   #4
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Is the crash due to equipment failure or pilot error. If it is due to equipment failure I think I need to rethink my planned setup.
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:30 PM   #5
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Also what radio are you running Spectrum or Futaba, I am a little bit nervous running spektrum equipment without any extender modules or such.
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:01 PM   #6
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 841
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

It would be a way of finding the model in any crash provided you can receive the GPS data to record.

I run FRSky because it is wayyyyy better than spektrum. Longer range plus it beeps at you when you are losing signal (this feature has saved my plane a few times now)

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:17 PM   #7
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Can I use freesky with my DX8?
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:33 AM   #8
jolyboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 841
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Default

Not sure, I use an FRSky module in my TX. Does you DX8 have a removable module?

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2
jolyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:36 AM   #9
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,949
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

You can also use a "return to home" feature if you run a GPS. I have it on my quad. If I lose signal it will fly back to where it took off. Planes can fly back and circle the take off point.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:13 PM   #10
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Not flying quads, and until I can get a GPS Module for My SK-720 I can't do that yet.
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:28 PM   #11
Mike A.
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,525
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Leesburg, Va
Default

Hi thielecg,

FPV is a totally different experience than line of sight flying. When I first started flying FPV I went straight to using my heli. FPV with a heli can be tricky, you may want to consider getting some cheap trainer like a Sky Surfer/Bixler to get used to flying FPV.. That is the route I took and now I'm moving back to FPV with one of my helis.

I'm using the same setup that you listed except for pinwheel antennas from FPVLR.com. I'm also using the Range Video OSD. It's really cool. It has tons of features including auto pilot modes for planes.

I am using a DX8 as well, I was constantly worried about flying out of range so I bought the Dragon Link UHF system. It uses the trainer port, you don't have to hack your radio up to connect it.
__________________
Trex 600EFL - KDE 600XF-530 - All the other KDE Goodies
Mike A. is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:46 PM   #12
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,397
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

I just got started in this and i'm using a dx8 with a gopro hero2 fatshark 5.8 and spironet antennas.
i've been flying heli's since 1989
I put this fpv setup on a tbs discovery quad and it is differnt when you fly fpv
first off I find myself worrying about whats around me I cant see when flying low
when flying high I find myself worrying about loosing the thing because orientation is way different fpv. I really think it would be easier to fly with a osd which I am about to order. I need a nice osd but I dont want to over pay for one.
anyone have any recommendations
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV

Last edited by satgod; 12-07-2012 at 03:31 PM..
satgod is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 12:13 AM   #13
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike A. View Post
Hi thielecg,

I am using a DX8 as well, I was constantly worried about flying out of range so I bought the Dragon Link UHF system. It uses the trainer port, you don't have to hack your radio up to connect it.
Mike A.

I too am thinking a lot about rand on my DX8, I was looking at the dragon link and a few others but really didn't want to operate on my DX8 so I am glad to hear it uses the trainer port. One question though, does the dragon link just amplify the spektrum signal or does it transmit the commands from the trainer port on a second transmitter? if so is that a 900Mhz transmitter to a on board receiver and then that receiver feeds whatever you have IE Skookum 720, BeastX and Vbar?

Chase
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:10 AM   #14
Mike A.
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,525
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Leesburg, Va
Default

When you plug in something to the trainer port on the DX8 it shuts off the 2.4ghz radio and it outputs a PPM signal on the trainer port. The Dragon Link takes the PPM signal and transmits it to the plane/heli. The Dragon Link transmits at 433mhz. The range is up to ~18 miles!

Your dragon link rx will connect to your FBL system just like a specktrum RX would connect to your FBL system.
__________________
Trex 600EFL - KDE 600XF-530 - All the other KDE Goodies
Mike A. is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:52 PM   #15
thielecg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 169
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Default

So basically if I am using DSMX satellites then I would not use them and hook up my SK540 like it was receiving commands from a traditional receiver right?
thielecg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:03 PM   #16
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,397
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thielecg View Post
So basically if I am using DSMX satellites then I would not use them and hook up my SK540 like it was receiving commands from a traditional receiver right?
anytime you use a UHF system you will unhook the dsmx sats and plug the UHF rx up just like you would a standard 2.4ghz receiver to the fbl controller, in your case the skookum 540
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com