Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Airplanes Info and Support > Airplane Related

Airplane Related R/C Airplanes Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 04:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Ordered my first plane - any setup vids?

I've been flying helis for a few years now. I don't know what came over me, maybe it's the nice weather we're enjoying here, but I've ordered a plank. I ordered the Kinetic 800 Mini Glider (Multiplex Merlin clone) from HK. It's a powered glider. Looks really nice. I'm sure planes must be easier to setup than helis but I'm sure they must have their own particular quirks. Are there any videos similar to Finless Bob's showing setup and things to be aware of?

Advertisement

Old 04-11-2011, 04:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

That glider will go very fast. So start off with about 40% expo on low rates for alerions,elevator and rudder. You will need a good size field. Keep it in front of you at all times and do not let it fly over your head. These plans are real blast. At first climb up in a circle until you get 40 feet then do what ever you want. ENJOY
suresharp is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2011, 06:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

Thread Starter Thread Starter

Thanks. Lots of expo then. I didn't realise how much space I'd need after looking at other videos! Maybe I'd have been better off with something else. Initially I was attracted to the Parkzone Ultra Micro planes but thought I'd soon hanker after something bigger. Still, this thing should be fairly leisurely to fly with the ability to go a bit more ballistic on 3s if needed.
Old 04-11-2011, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users