Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDS Helicopters General Discussion

KDS Helicopters General Discussion KDS Helicopters General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default KDS 450c Comments, complaints?

I'm a rookie and I'm looking at the 450c as a first "real" heli, of course I need a lot more time on the sim before I purchase a larger heli, just wanted to get comments or complaints. Any and all replies appreciated!
automap2002 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2013, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

Hey
I personally don't own a KDS450, but I can confirm that this size is great for beginners. From my KDS550 I can confirm that the KDS mechanical quality is just great. I am also satisfied with the blades, the ESC as well as the motor.
Many people have had good experience with the servos, I have however heard about some that developed a substantial ammount of play in the servo-arms after just a few flights, which is why I decided to put SAVÖX into mine.
Old 01-28-2013, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

I have the 450QS which is marketed as the beginner heli. I haven't got many complaints about it.
My main complaints are:
1. general accessibility for replacing servos is not that thought out but once you figure it out it's not too bad.
2. The standard 9g micro servos are really weak and break almost instantly in a crash. Follow FamilyMans advice and replace with Savox or something similar with metal gears.

Having said that, its a pretty good platform to learn on, repairs wise. I don't think you'll be disappointed for the price you pay! I love mine

KDS 450QS, Nano S3, M2 Evo
anthraxnz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2013, 05:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users