Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography

Aerial Videography and Photography Aerial Video/Photo from R/C Helicopters

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Which Heli Airframe for AP work?

Ok, I realize that's like asking what's the best truck to buy, but I'll explain a little about what I "think" I am looking for. First off, is there a thread out there that lists several different folks experiences with different setups, and needs?

Ok, so I am a photographer as a side job, so I love photography, but at this point I am not looking to merge RC with photography to make money, it's more for myself, with however the future possibility of doing so. I am just not ready to sell off my hobby. I am currently assembling my first Multirotor that I plan to learn FPV with and have a little GoPro fun with it. One thing I really enjoy though is the flight of the single rotor, so I would like to build a ship that I can fly for fun, not hard 3d, but must be able to handle smooth flying 3d with loops, rolls, inverted stuff etc. I am looking for a very good headspeed envelope, with an emphasis on slower smooth headspeeds. I would like to add an FPV camera, and a Gopro, and ideally be able to build upon the airframe to add a camera gimbal of some sort to possibly carry a DSLR, although this would be the least important requirement of the airframe. I am thinking the new DJI Naza/GPS FBL system will be a good start. I'll list some requirements:

Long flight times around the 15+-min mark
Vibration manageable
Minimum 690 blades
Able to fly smoothly at a low headspeed, ie 1,000-1,500RPM
Able to fly up to 1,900RPM for smooth mellow 3D flight.
Possibly be able to add and remove canopy for flight, don't need to film with it on.
Ideally run on 12S