Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems > AP and Scale


AP and Scale Discussions for Scale, Multi-blade and AP applications using CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix, Digimix-3.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:34 PM   #1
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default 2 burnt up micro servos /Front Retract WHY??help

Really pissed now.. just bought another hitech 5065 servo today micro and within minutes its poop what am i doing wrong..i have a scale 500 trex with the battery is a 6 s 3700 i also used it with a 3300 6 s align ..is battery to big?? using a Spectrum ar7200 beastx, ,, does the voltage need correcting??
happend twice already on the bench.used just for the front retract on a scale a109
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011

Last edited by Indydrt; 10-24-2012 at 10:42 PM.. Reason: addition picture etc.
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:31 PM   #2
Dr. M
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,697
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle Area, East Side
Default

How are you powering the servo? you're not plugging it into the 6s pack are you?

BTW, the HS 5065 takes a max of 6V.
__________________
CopterX 450 Black Angel FBL "Night Rig" | ZYX v4.0
PRTOS 500 FBL "Sky Whip" | Robird G31
Audacity P6 FBL "Phoenix" | MSH Brain | 12s
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:39 AM   #3
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default

Thanks dr.m for responding,, im just using the 6 s pack hooked up to the speed controller wheich is then going into the beastx ar7200. Then i selected aux 2 and have a harness spiltting the rear servo for the rear retracts and that ne works fine. But a larger servo i forget what it is ..and then the micro up front.? So you think battery might be to large volts etc?

I forget what the volts are. Is it 22.2 on a 6 s. ?
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 02:37 AM   #4
Dr. M
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,697
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle Area, East Side
Default

No, the battery isn't too large. The ESC has a DC-DC converter called a BEC which powers your electronics at a lower voltage. If you can setup the BEC voltage, set it to 5V just to be safe.
__________________
CopterX 450 Black Angel FBL "Night Rig" | ZYX v4.0
PRTOS 500 FBL "Sky Whip" | Robird G31
Audacity P6 FBL "Phoenix" | MSH Brain | 12s
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 06:31 AM   #5
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default Servo

Thanks. Thats what i thought it was supposed to do,,, a bec.. Yes,,if i can find out what brand mfg the esc is. I will try and see how i can adjust it ...if can thanks.,,dr m
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:39 AM   #6
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default

Dr m. I wonder if i have to adjust the pulse settings for servos in aux 2 ,,on original setup in the beastx,,i know i did it for the cyclic and tail originally . But not for the aux two ,,if there is even a setting for that... Also maybe i need to select a different channel on the beastx..this aux 2 was the only one that worked,,that was a pain in but also just getting that to work.so....hmm. ???
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
Dr. M
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,697
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle Area, East Side
Default

The HS5065 servos are 1520s 333Hz. If you're trying to run them with a different pulse width (like 760 or 960s) it will burn them out. I'm not familiar with the BX controller, you might want to go to the Best forum and ask there.
__________________
CopterX 450 Black Angel FBL "Night Rig" | ZYX v4.0
PRTOS 500 FBL "Sky Whip" | Robird G31
Audacity P6 FBL "Phoenix" | MSH Brain | 12s
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:27 PM   #8
Mikej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indydrt View Post
Dr m. I wonder if i have to adjust the pulse settings for servos in aux 2 ,,on original setup in the beastx,,i know i did it for the cyclic and tail originally . But not for the aux two ,,if there is even a setting for that... Also maybe i need to select a different channel on the beastx..this aux 2 was the only one that worked,,that was a pain in but also just getting that to work.so....hmm. ???
Which port are you using on teh Beastx - there isn't one that the manual refers to as Aux 2 - there is CH7, but the manual says ...
"On slot [DI2 | CH7 | CH6] another auxiliary channel is available on the top pin [CH6], for example to hook up a governor for nitro engines. Please note that this slot is only issuing a control signal and has no power. For this reason a servo cannot be plugged here directly. The two lower pins [DI2] and [CH7] are reserved for other applications."
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:16 PM   #9
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default

First let me be absolutely clear its a AR7200 bx FBL Controller and reciever..
PORTS read from top to bottom if mounted vertically as it is on my 500
BND/Dat
Aux2
Aux3
Thro
Rx L
Elev
Aile
Aux 1
Rudd

Thanks for your help lets go from hear.. Hitech said to me today that this hs5065 digital servo will not take more than 270 htz.

And the other tech i think Greg said that i should not use a Digital servo for the retract.. ok i said.. but i use a digital ds821 for my rear two retracts with no issues.. so go figure,,, so i just bought a analog hs65 mg not digital and iam going to try to lower my settings in the beastx assuming iam setting that also controls the aux 2 channel but i looked and cant find anything yet well nothing from the manuel yet
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
Mikej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indydrt View Post
First let me be absolutely clear its a AR7200 bx FBL Controller and reciever..
Sorry - hadn't picked that up, now seen it in your first post
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:39 PM   #11
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default

no prob and i also just made a new post in the beastx forum to see if anyone knows of an adjustment for a aux 2 channel theres nothing in the manuel for that channel .
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:00 PM   #12
Dr. M
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,697
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle Area, East Side
Default

I believe that channel is directly controlled from the Tx. The BX has no input on Aux2.
__________________
CopterX 450 Black Angel FBL "Night Rig" | ZYX v4.0
PRTOS 500 FBL "Sky Whip" | Robird G31
Audacity P6 FBL "Phoenix" | MSH Brain | 12s
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:08 PM   #13
Indydrt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delray bch Fl.
Default

Ok hmm.
__________________
Always thanks for the help much appreciated makes the hobby alot easier and enjoyable
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
since i began flying in dec.2011
Indydrt is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems > AP and Scale


AP and Scale Discussions for Scale, Multi-blade and AP applications using CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix, Digimix-3.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com