Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics

Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default How-To: Easy setup for perfect (bail-out) self-level

Hey guys,

As I wasn't satisfied with the accuracy of SL (self-level) I was achieving with the methods described here I wrack my brain to find a (better) solution...

I'm glad to anounce that I've found a perfect solution!
But let's start with my story and needs for SL as this solution might not work for every purpose!

If you want something like the following, this solution is for you:
I'm just beginning with 3D: trying to get my flips, rolls, loops, and stall-turns right.
I bought the SK720 for its SL feature, to use it at bail-out.
I dislike to practice on the simulator. I like to try&error with real helis.
I want to flick a switch on the Tx when I'm loosing orientation and the heli hovers as good as possible and as long as possible. So I can get my nerves back

Requirements, restrictions, preperations and hints
Bad things first:
  • You loose one flight mode (but be honest here: who does really NEED 3 flight modes?)
  • You need an advanced Tx (I use a DX8)
The good side:
  • Your heli will go into "hover-level" with the flick of a switch
  • Easy trim of SL with the trims on your Tx
  • You don't have to mess with the Setup Software servo trims
  • You don't have to mess with the linkage lengths of the cyclic servos
  • Your mechanical setup and SK720 setup stays perfect for normal flight

What you have to do first is to mount the SK720 as close as possible to the center of grafity (CG, CoG) of your heli.
My SK720 is mounted directly under the main shaft on the bottom plate: So as perfect as possible