Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 12:58 PM   #21
stenkilde
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fredericia, Denmark
Default Stripped gears.

I have experienced stripped gears when the rotor blades has cut some serious grass. This has happened twice now. There were not a scratch on the blades so it was minor strikes. Dont ever put in High-Tech HS55 servos in your heli they are cheap crap!

Regards "Per".
stenkilde is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 04:30 PM   #22
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stenkilde View Post
I have experienced stripped gears when the rotor blades has cut some serious grass. This has happened twice now. There were not a scratch on the blades so it was minor strikes. Dont ever put in High-Tech HS55 servos in your heli they are cheap crap!

Regards "Per".
I held out on metal gears for a long time. BIG MISTAKE!

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 08:57 PM   #23
blueprint
Registered Users
 
Posts: 877
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Default

im getting tired of changing out my HS65HB karbonite gears, specifically on the aileron servo and am wondering if i can just purchase HS65MG Metal gears and use them for my HB? is it a direct install without any modifications?

if it does fit would there be speed differences between one MG servo and 2 HB servos?

Thanks
blueprint is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:36 PM   #24
DA54
Registered Users
 
Posts: 189
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Default works

It's a straight trade to go to metal. No changes required. No differences in speed noted on next flight, at least for me.
DA54 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:41 PM   #25
blueprint
Registered Users
 
Posts: 877
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA54 View Post
It's a straight trade to go to metal. No changes required. No differences in speed noted on next flight, at least for me.
Thanks... there is about a $10 difference between the two sets and i think it will be worth it.
blueprint is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 09:41 PM   #26
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint View Post
Thanks... there is about a $10 difference between the two sets and i think it will be worth it.
Absolutely!
Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 06:46 PM   #27
ipjodan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 333
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Preston, UK
Default

Hi all,

im running HS56 KG and im fed up of replacing the gear sets. So im thinking of going down the HS65 MG route. If i do this and when i next crash if the servo's dont give is there then normally another part that goes?

Thanks
ipjodan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 05:22 PM   #28
giskard
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Default

Sorry its slightly off topic guys but to you mount your HS65s inside the frame like Finless' videos or outside like in the manual?

Its going to be a lot easier to pull out a servo to change it if they're mounted outside but I'm worried about the geometry.

(I'm upgrading from a CDE XL)
giskard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 05:56 PM   #29
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipjodan View Post
Hi all,

im running HS56 KG and im fed up of replacing the gear sets. So im thinking of going down the HS65 MG route. If i do this and when i next crash if the servo's dont give is there then normally another part that goes?

Thanks
Never had a problem.
Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 05:57 PM   #30
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giskard View Post
Sorry its slightly off topic guys but to you mount your HS65s inside the frame like Finless' videos or outside like in the manual?

Its going to be a lot easier to pull out a servo to change it if they're mounted outside but I'm worried about the geometry.

(I'm upgrading from a CDE XL)
If it is like the SE, I put mine on the inside for geometry. After changing to metal gears, I never had to rebuild them again anyhow.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 11:01 AM   #31
giskard
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Default

Thanks :o)

Now I just have to find a file small enough to open the screwholes a little!
giskard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 09:59 PM   #32
zagiman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 320
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Default

I crashed last weekend and I thought my pitch and aileron servos were a little stripped because they were making a little noise at zero pitch like some of the gears are a little rounded over the top. I don't see anything wrong with any of the gears but, I can't get a close look at some of them because I can't get the output shaft gear off. I pull it straight up and it won't budge. How hard do you have to pull to get it off?
zagiman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 10:03 PM   #33
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zagiman View Post
I crashed last weekend and I thought my pitch and aileron servos were a little stripped because they were making a little noise at zero pitch like some of the gears are a little rounded over the top. I don't see anything wrong with any of the gears but, I can't get a close look at some of them because I can't get the output shaft gear off. I pull it straight up and it won't budge. How hard do you have to pull to get it off?
Sometimes really hard. Keep pulling, it will come off.
Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:27 AM   #34
ambravo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 392
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

A little help please. I rebuilt an HS 65 with carbonite gears ( I'm waiting for 3 sets of MG's I ordered, but wanted to fly while waiting). When I put the tiny gear in second, after assembly I could see the brass motor pinion spinning freely without contact with the other gears. Then I switched the order and put the little gear in first, and everything seemed to work fine. I put the thing together and when I tried to hover it (after setting up my swashplaete), I was all over the place. A little while later the servo is stripped worse than ever. When my MG's come I want to make sure I rebuild the servo correctly. What did I do wrong the first time that the gears weren't meshing?
Thanks,
Angel
ambravo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:41 AM   #35
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ambravo View Post
A little help please. I rebuilt an HS 65 with carbonite gears ( I'm waiting for 3 sets of MG's I ordered, but wanted to fly while waiting). When I put the tiny gear in second, after assembly I could see the brass motor pinion spinning freely without contact with the other gears. Then I switched the order and put the little gear in first, and everything seemed to work fine. I put the thing together and when I tried to hover it (after setting up my swashplaete), I was all over the place. A little while later the servo is stripped worse than ever. When my MG's come I want to make sure I rebuild the servo correctly. What did I do wrong the first time that the gears weren't meshing?
Thanks,
Angel
I'm not sure what you did wrong, but the metal gears must go in in this order:


Good luck!

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:45 AM   #36
rdlohr
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,393
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Maybe you put the little gear in upside down.
Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 04:57 AM   #37
zeese5
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damyxz View Post
Another tip when rebuilding servos, Be sure not to put grease on the potentiometer tracks or it will mess up the servo centering ability. I also make it a point to clean the potentiometer tracks with deoxyit spray cleaner and then sprayit with deoxyit gold. This makes the contact of the potentiometer better and it is lubed too, making it last longer and center really good. I get the deoxyit spray from radioshack and I have been using this spray for my studio mixers for flawless sound recording.
Can anyone please post a picture on this.. Which one is a potentiometer tracks.. Please. thanks.
zeese5 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 08:36 AM   #38
Shef
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manhattan (NYC)
Default

So the other day, I stripped the Pitch and Aileron servos and replaced with MGs (finally). My elevator is still Karbonite...is there a reason to switch them out now too in order to keep everything consistent, or does it not matter?

Thanks.
__________________
Former owner of T-Rex: 250, 450 V2, 500ESP V-Bar, 550 DFC 3GX, 600ESP V-Bar, 700E 3G
Shef is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 10:53 AM   #39
offroader
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Default

I have a problem after rebuilding the servo only moves in one direction could this be caused by the pot being dirty on one side?
offroader is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 05:10 PM   #40
trickybit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,987
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Default

did you make sure the potentiometer is engaged properly?
__________________
PRTOS 500 Plastic, Logo 550SX/600SX, PRTOS Max2 up and flying!
Team MSH USA, Team Cyclone, Team Xnova
trickybit is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.