Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Helicopter Safety


Helicopter Safety R/C Helicopter Safety


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2016, 11:52 AM   #1
ic-racer
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Default Start small...First Mistake with Futaba Radio...

I have resisted the encouragement at our airfield to 'start with a 500' heli.

I wanted to share my mistake with other Futaba users. This could have been a problem with a larger heli.

Radio: Futaba 6K
Heli: HeliMax Coaxial

The Issue:
Can't figure out which swash setting, H1, H3,???

How it happened: Transmitter is on and programmed with a 'guess' setting of the swash type. HeliMax sitting on the ground with battery in place.
Trial hover and controls don't seem correct. Land.

Go to setup on Futaba and change the swash type.

***THE PROBLEM***
Immediately the HeliMax takes off wildly toward the ceiling, the controls on the Futaba seem to become useless, throttle cut switch does nothing. I had to catch the heli and remove the battery after chasing it across the room.

How Did It Happen:
On the Futaba, when you change the swash type it instantly and without warning ERASES THE ENTIRE MODEL SETUP!!!!
So it erased my throttle reverse setup (this HeliMax uses a reversed throttle setting) and it erased the throttle hold switch assignment and function.

Lesson learned. Good thing it was not a 500.
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 12:23 PM   #2
im4711
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,078
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

wow - interesting indeed.

On any larger machine I highly recommend to take off the blades when making such setup changes. Normally depending on the FBL system (or even Flybar machine) you have the instructions what swash settings to use. So that should be an easy decision upfront. Any of those initial settings (regardless radio) I always do without any blades installed.
__________________
Kontronik, Switch Blades, Bavarian Demon, HD-Helicopters, TDR, Diabolo, HeliBaby, Takumi and Banshee
im4711 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 09:50 PM   #3
flyswatter40
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kenora, Canada
Default

If you had looked closer you would have seen the warning asking are you sure !!! First mistake is you trying to reprogram while the heli is live. Second mistake not reading the manual. Just think had you bought a Spektrum you have to turn off the radio to save data ,now I wonder how that would have went. You choose a new swash setting which defaults everything back to factory centers and puts the servo reversing all back to factory. In all cases when adjusting any "live" heli always unplug the motor wires and remove the blades. A 700 would have killed you right there, treat them as you would live wires, disconnect the power to the motor man, glad you are ok bud.
flyswatter40 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 12:12 AM   #4
Coco66
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,888
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain / Torino, Italy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyswatter40 View Post
If you had looked closer you would have seen the warning asking are you sure !!! First mistake is you trying to reprogram while the heli is live. Second mistake not reading the manual. Just think had you bought a Spektrum you have to turn off the radio to save data ,now I wonder how that would have went. You choose a new swash setting which defaults everything back to factory centers and puts the servo reversing all back to factory. In all cases when adjusting any "live" heli always unplug the motor wires and remove the blades. A 700 would have killed you right there, treat them as you would live wires, disconnect the power to the motor man, glad you are ok bud.
Never heard that... what do you mean?
__________________
Goblin 500Warp 360Blade 450XBlade 450X Nightflyer ♦ 2 X mCPX v2 ♦ night fly mQXLadyMQXnano QXnano QX FPVInductrixDX8
Coco66 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 08:43 PM   #5
MariaFan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,623
 

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ohio
Default

CoCo,

Spekky radios don't save any changes until you turn the radio OFF.
__________________
(2) Trex 450 Plus DFC (Danica and Maria), mCX (Angel), Stretched Nano (Newt), mCPX V2 (Tree Frog), 180 CFX (Sandra), Stretched mCPX V1 (Elvira), 4 blade mCPX BL (Aphrodite), mCPX BL (Phoenix), DX6 Next Gen, Best Avatar ♥♥♥
MariaFan is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 11:21 AM   #6
Coco66
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,888
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain / Torino, Italy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MariaFan View Post
CoCo,

Spekky radios don't save any changes until you turn the radio OFF.
Well... you make changes, and they are immediately "active"... so what do we mean with "saved" here? You make changes, you use them, and when you will eventually turn off the radio they will be "saved"... but what's the difference?
__________________
Goblin 500Warp 360Blade 450XBlade 450X Nightflyer ♦ 2 X mCPX v2 ♦ night fly mQXLadyMQXnano QXnano QX FPVInductrixDX8
Coco66 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 06:09 PM   #7
ic-racer
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
FUTABA MANUAL: When the Model Type selection command is accessed, all of the data in the active memory is cleared (except the following swash type.) Be sure that you don’t mind losing this data, or back it up to another memory using the copying functions.
To me that says nothing about erasing the memory when the swash type is changed. Maybe something was lost in translation.

To re-emphasize, I did NOT change the Model Type (Plane to Heli etc.) I changed the swash type.

When it asked me "Sure?" of course I indicated yes, as I indeed wanted to change the swash. I didn't 'accidentally' change the swash type.
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:41 AM   #8
Solmanbandit
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MariaFan View Post
CoCo,

Spekky radios don't save any changes until you turn the radio OFF.
Not true in the sense you guys are saying. As said it saves it as soon as you move out of that selection.
__________________
Trex 700 DFC Ikon / Trex 500L Ikon / Trex 500 ESP Ikon / HD Cell 500 - Ikon 2
Solmanbandit is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Helicopter Safety


Helicopter Safety R/C Helicopter Safety

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.