Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner


RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner for Suggestions and Announcements from RCHN


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2016, 09:57 AM   #1
nwmtech
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,894
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bellingham, WA
Default HobbyWing V4 ESC and OptoCable

There were a few people asking about the wiring on adding the OptoCable to the HobbyWIng V4 ESC's to clear up any RPM output issues. He's a tech-tip I did to help explain it.

__________________
Team RCHN Citizen 002, Team SAB, V-Team, Team Optipower
nwmtech is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 05:12 AM   #2
suthae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,003
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Malaysia
Default

Hi Nick... thanks for posting this, was just waiting for this after listening to this weeks episode.

A quick question, if I were to plug in the male servo lead to the RXA port in the Mini Vbar, do I have to remove the +ve and -ve leads? Since this port is only for signal and shudn be supplied with any current?
And on the mini Vbar, the RXA port is supposed to be limited up to 5v only, so do i need to run a step down if my BEC is setup for 7.4v?

A quick note on my setup: HW 160 V4, ext gov, Mini Vbar with VBC.
__________________
G700C-HK4525-520ult, HW 160HV V4, MKS X8 Servos, VBC
X7F#1-Xnova 4530-525, HW 160HV V4, BK Servos, VBC
X7F#2-HK4525-520 LE, HW 160HV V4, Deko Servo, VBC

Last edited by suthae; 10-07-2016 at 10:41 PM..
suthae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 01:18 AM   #3
nwmtech
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,894
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bellingham, WA
Default

Sorry for the delay guys.

In order for the Opto-Cable to properly output signal the power and ground need to be tied back into the main power and ground rail of the FBL system. On the MiniV you can NOT plug that all into RXA or you'll cook the FBL system. You have to use a Y-Cable on one of the servo connectors.

Yes this is dumb, but please keep in mind how old of a design the MiniV is. It was never designed for what people are trying to use it for.
__________________
Team RCHN Citizen 002, Team SAB, V-Team, Team Optipower
nwmtech is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 09:29 AM   #4
kvnm27
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Default

Nick,

Any way you might be able to squeeze out some time to do a Hobbywing ESC - w/setup programmer / Vcontrol setup video? I've searched for setup vids on Youtube, but none with Vcontrol and much less are they really helpful..

Anyone has a link with clear instructions, it would be appreciated! :-)

Thanks!!
__________________
Team Scorpion Power Systems
kvnm27 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 01:02 PM   #5
tshelby73
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,751
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gillette, WY, USA
Default

Did this ever get fixed so we don't need the scorpion adapter. I was thinking it may just be as easy to use a phase sensor being they probably weigh close to the same.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tshelby73 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner


RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner RC Heli Nation Podcast - Listeners Corner for Suggestions and Announcements from RCHN

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.