Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 470 Class Electric Helicopters



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2016, 09:57 PM   #1
scssniper74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 335
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rockwall, TX
Default 470LM Lipos and CG issue...

Hey guys.. Just got my 470 assembled and was planning on using my pulse 1800mah lipos from my G380. In order to get the CG even close the lipo is pushed all the way back so the first Velcro strap is almost off the front of the lipo and its still nose heavy.. Just curious what everyone is using and how there CG is.. Thanks in advance
__________________
AMA # 1121783 CITIZEN 816 Goblin 770 Speed 3 Blade Head/Tail Kontronik Ikon2
Gaui NX7 YS 91 SRX Hatori MKS
You cant pass if you choose to follow
scssniper74 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 02:38 AM   #2
bladebuster.rc
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: italy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scssniper74 View Post
Hey guys.. Just got my 470 assembled and was planning on using my pulse 1800mah lipos from my G380. In order to get the CG even close the lipo is pushed all the way back so the first Velcro strap is almost off the front of the lipo and its still nose heavy.. Just curious what everyone is using and how there CG is.. Thanks in advance
I am using very small lipos (1400/1450 mAh), and must say I am happy: CoG is perfect, lipos are well centered onto the tray, flight time is more than enough (4' with 3D @ 2550 rpm), overall weight very attractive 1150 gr rtf to get to a amazing disk loading of about 2020 gr/m2: a butterfly)

I can't see how to get it balanced with heavier lipos
__________________
Bladebuster - Oxy Heli Pilot Team
bladebuster.rc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 10:16 AM   #3
AllanNg
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Midwest
Default

I' haven't got the 1800 yet but planning to. You use the top of the boom for gyro or the bottom? YOu can remove the bottom mount for more room.
AllanNg is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 10:28 AM   #4
scssniper74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 335
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rockwall, TX
Default

I'm using the Vlink Neo and mounted it in the bottom location due to its size. I am able to slide the lipo back on its tray far enough to get the CG correct but the forward velcro strap is basically off the front of the lipo. I guess with using velcro on the lipo and tray with 1 strap around it would work but I would prefer 2 of course. Would have been nice if they made the tray longer. I have to many 1800mah lipos to buy something new.. I'll figure something out I guess.
__________________
AMA # 1121783 CITIZEN 816 Goblin 770 Speed 3 Blade Head/Tail Kontronik Ikon2
Gaui NX7 YS 91 SRX Hatori MKS
You cant pass if you choose to follow
scssniper74 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 12:49 PM   #5
Kootenai Rider
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Hillsboro
Default

I'd say move the gyro back. I am running Pulse 1800's about centered on the tray, with the Micro beast in the back.

I also run 6S 2200 NanoTech's, and those to get the CG correct are about at the edge of the front strap.
Kootenai Rider is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 08:45 PM   #6
Kap'n Krunch
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: So.Cal
Default

I stuffed 5000 mah in a logo 480 it was directly under the main gear to get it to cg hope this helps
Kap'n Krunch is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 09:07 PM   #7
scssniper74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 335
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rockwall, TX
Default

I appreciate all of the insight guys. Hopefully I'll get back at figuring it out this weekend. Stay tuned!
__________________
AMA # 1121783 CITIZEN 816 Goblin 770 Speed 3 Blade Head/Tail Kontronik Ikon2
Gaui NX7 YS 91 SRX Hatori MKS
You cant pass if you choose to follow
scssniper74 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 12:24 AM   #8
scssniper74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 335
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rockwall, TX
Default

well I finally got it.. moved the Neo and the cc bec back about 1/2" on the bottom mount and have the 1800mah lipo back so the front strap is secured on the very front of the lipo. CG seems almost perfect now. Maiden with a Trim flight in the VBC and all should be well!. Thanks guys!
__________________
AMA # 1121783 CITIZEN 816 Goblin 770 Speed 3 Blade Head/Tail Kontronik Ikon2
Gaui NX7 YS 91 SRX Hatori MKS
You cant pass if you choose to follow
scssniper74 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 09:25 PM   #9
smokenjoe50
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: usa
Default

You need some of these.
http://www.aligntrexstore.com/470L-B...AX_p_4729.html
smokenjoe50 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 09:27 PM   #10
scssniper74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 335
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rockwall, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokenjoe50 View Post
Ah perfect!! Where we're these a couple months ago!! Thanks
__________________
AMA # 1121783 CITIZEN 816 Goblin 770 Speed 3 Blade Head/Tail Kontronik Ikon2
Gaui NX7 YS 91 SRX Hatori MKS
You cant pass if you choose to follow
scssniper74 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 10:52 PM   #11
perrypoint
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pleasant Grove, UT, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scssniper74 View Post
well I finally got it.. moved the Neo and the cc bec back about 1/2" on the bottom mount and have the 1800mah lipo back so the front strap is secured on the very front of the lipo. CG seems almost perfect now. Maiden with a Trim flight in the VBC and all should be well!. Thanks guys!
I use the top FBL mount, and my Pulse 1800 is pushed back so the front strap is on the front of the lipo as well. I waited to attach the velcro on the lipo until I knew where it would line up with the battery mount plate so it's all good.
perrypoint is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 10:57 PM   #12
Necroscope
Registered Users
 
Posts: 588
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Zealand & Russian Federation.
Default

I saw a post where a couple of guys were using 2 x 3s 2200 mha in series. Just woundering if anyone here is doing that and if so how is the CG?
I was going to do the same but if it is a pain I have some 1450's for my 450L.
__________________
Bob1 6s with SK-720BE & GPS-1.
Bob 2 with SK-720BE
Bob 3 with SK-720BE & GPS-1.
Jeti DS-16. Whovian.
Necroscope is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 05:16 AM   #13
Andy from Sandy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Default

The CoG for me is perfect not just close. Holding the model up sideways absolute balance using OptiPower 1600 30C pack.

I have the ESC up front and NEO under the main shaft. LP with metal tail belt unit, longer shaft and 74mm tail blades.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1520.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	687108  
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:38 AM   #14
Number
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri
Default

Mine is slightly nose heavy with the Align 1850 but not much. It's a pretty light pack.

Brain on rear tray, HW50, servo wires all shortened and crimped, 74 tails
Number is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 470 Class Electric Helicopters


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.