Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters > 500 Pro Class Electric Helicopters

500 Pro Class Electric Helicopters 500 Pro Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2016, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default How to approach getting a pre-owned, unfinished 500L in the air

Hi,

I am new to larger CP helicopters. Been flying Nano QX quad, then Nano CPS, and have a K110 on its way to me. I'm looking ahead to being able to get to a larger heli, and picked up a new 500L here on HF for $350. It wasn't fully put together, but has all parts and electronics, with the exception of some ball links. It is being shipped now, and will be here next week. I'll inventory then and see what's really missing.

I would appreciate any advice on how to approach getting it in the air. I have a lot of experience with building RC planes from kits, but not helicopters, and not using loctite as such a big part of the process. What I'm concerned about is whether it was previously built using loctite properly. Is there a way to look/see if there is loctite on the parts? Do I need to disassemble the entire helicopter and rebuild it to be on the safe side? If there are any websites or videos you would recommend that would be great too.

Lastly, looking ahead, what batteries are folks using for the 500L that have the most bang for the buck?

Thanks in advance.
Wild Steelhead is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2016, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

Hey buddy hows it going, I was eyeing that 500L also, Lol.

So in certain areas Loctite is more critical than others and you should definitely take the time to check to protect your investment.