Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques

Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2015, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default Another non-traditional cano w/ steps (pic heavy)

I did another one! I can't really say it is great or anything and struggled to come up with ideas and am pretty meh about the whole thing. I bought this Fusuno X5 Formula canopy at Christmas for only $35 bucks but just wasn't happy with the look. I tried painting the cockpit area with a alligator pattern but still didn't like it.

After somewhere around 16 hours of stripping and prepping the canopy, I just started playing and mocking up some ideas and colors on my computer. Prepping for paint is a tedious and time consuming process and my least favorite part. I'm going to post up another thread on my process of getting pre-painted canopies ready to paint.

Computer concepts - where I always start

So, after the tribulations of getting the canopy ready to paint and having a general idea of where I'm going, I try to decide what layers go first and it isn't always easy. I'll just run through most of the steps of getting this one done below and post the "finished" pics at the end. Even after hours and hours of work and the expense of materials, I still don't like it that much and am kind of meh about this one too.

And finally, where it all ended up.

At the field yesterday with the family. (before the crash! )

Until I get ambitious enough to do another one,
--Elisabeth
Gaui X2 & X5- MKS,Scorpion, Castle and lotsa good stuff
2 FrankenHeli 450s, Axe 100SS, Futaba
EKron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2015, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users