Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Airplanes Info and Support > Airplane Related

Airplane Related R/C Airplanes Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2015, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Thumbs up EFlite Apprentice S15e

Hi Plankers! I'm still pretty new to flying RC. Picked up DX8 and NanoCPX at Christmas. Been trying to fly it almost daily since. Added a mSR, a mSRX, a couple of NanoQX and 180QX to the hanger since. Then a 180CFX. The quads are easy. NCPX has been beat to death and rebuilt a few times already. The 180CFX has had 9 flights, 6 of which didn't require parts after the "landing". None of these can I fly in the wind, so I started looking for another option. Yesterday morning, the Apprentice landed on my porch. Put it together and took it to the local club field yesterday evening. Joined the beginning of last month, but have yet to catch up with the few heli pros at the field. 1/2 a dozen fixed wing pilots were there. Told them I had a new heli to maiden, but the main rotor was in the wrong place and that I needed some help with it. A couple of them looked it over, said it looked right to them. One of the senior/seasoned pilots reluctantly offered to take it up for the first time. They all laughed when I told him there was no way he was going to hurt it any worse that I was likely to. He made a lap, trimming a little on the way. Set it down and started adjusting the Tx. He left the travels at 100%, but put 65% expo on the aileron, 50% on the elevator. Flying in the intermediate mode, he made a couple more laps trimming, landed, and handed me the sticks. Wished me luck, took a step back, and off I went. 10-12mph wind, but I think it flew great! After about 5 minutes of flying laps around the field, I set it down. With the head wind, it was like landing a heli. Just ease back on the throttle, and with almost no foward speed, it settled onto the wheels and rolled