Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Mikado Logo Helicopters

Mikado Logo Helicopters Mikado Logo Helicopters Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2015, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default Static electricity PSA

I've been flying Logos for what must be 5-6 years now and I've never done the full static mod but I've never had any issues with static either.

This winter, I switched from Spektrum (JR x9503/DSM2) to Jeti. I also decided to build a larger version of my Logo500 UltraLight. Over the past few weeks, I've been troubleshooting my 'new' 600 that was flying erratically and had logs full of 'Sensor Data Checksum Error', 'Satellite Data Out of Sync', 'Governor Input Contains Glitches'.. etc. And there were tons of them, every few seconds. Now, the vbar I was using had been in a heli fire so I was suspect of the vbar. I contacted MikadoUSA and continued to troubleshoot. So, I swapped the sensor unit... no change. Swapped the main unit... no change. So, now I'm suspecting the ESC. Ron (MikadoUSA) strongly suggested installing the static wires. I didn't want to since I'd never had any static issues in the past but I finally decided to do it and test some more.

Previously, I had tried to duplicate the errors without actually flying by running the motor backwards but this caused no errors. Then, it occured to me that if the errors were caused by static that the belt would have to be running. So, I removed the main and tail blades and spun it up with the motor running forwards. There were tons of errors in the logs so I finally had a way to test it without flying. I installed the static wires and retested a few times. No errors.