Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information

Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Question Looking for noob suggestions, phoenix setup.

Hello,

So I'm new to this whole thing and figured this was probably the best section for this. I've been doing a lot of reading lately. This is a hobby I've always wanted to get into since I was first introduced to it about 12 years ago. My friend had a 500ish sized nitro heli and I tried to hover it. That was one of the most difficult things I've ever done. It seems like things have come a long way over the years.

The only thing that is set in stone so far is my transmitter. I picked up a DX8 a few days ago and also the Phoenix sim. I'm been toying around with all of the helis in there and I can hover most of them. I was immediately impressed with how easy it was on the sim, even flying the "pro" helis. Seemed much easier than the nitro I tried a long time ago. Not sure if they are much easier now or I just didn't have the coordination then.