Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 01:50 PM   #1
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default Goggles or monitor for fpv?

Just getting started in this side of the hobby. Ive been fling heli's for years and wanna give fpv a shot but with a multirotor for stability reasons. Ive been looking at dji f450 with naza gps for flight control. But as for video(tx/rx/etc) im not sure which route to go...

Do you recommend goggles or a monitor for viewing, and why? Pros?Cons?

Thanks
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:13 AM   #2
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,977
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

1 vote for goggles

Pros:
Bigger field of view (equal to a 55" tv)
No glare
OSD looks great
Blocking out the rest of your surroundings really makes you feel as if you are in the cockpit.

Cons:
Cost (good goggles are around $300)

To me it is worth it, for the reasons listed above and since this is a one time purchase that you can use with all future FPV projects. It's not like you have to buy a new set each time you build another bird.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:57 AM   #3
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

I was looking at this kit...

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=781

Is this over the top? Or like you said then ill have them. It does supposedly come with everything i need which is nice for a newb. Is that a good price? Good hardware? Electronics? Etc?

Thanks
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:50 PM   #4
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,977
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

That is the kit that I got. The only things that I changed was to remove the camera and replace it with the gopro cable because I want to record HD video. I also added the OSD. But that is obviously not needed, I just liked the idea of having my altitude, speed, battery voltage, direction to home on the screen. I just had a little extra Christmas money and treated myself

I do not think that is to over the top either. I have the belief that if you buy good stuff, you only have to buy it once. I thought about going cheap and figured I would spend more money in the long run and end up buying this in the end any way.

I don't want to present myself as a FPV veteran though. I just built this and only tested it once. I am keeping myself on the ground until I get my license. But the test I did of it worked well. I did try a few of my friends goggles before I made the decision.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

I have that same setup and its nice

heres a video of my first real fpv flight with it


the 5.8 is good but dont get behind anything or it can wash out
on my second REAL fpv flight I got about 3 city blocks away in the subdivsion and decended down behind a 2 store house and lost my video feed
quickly hit the return to home switch on the radio and once it was back up high my video came back and I took over again
I really recommend some sort of OSD I went with eagle tree because I wanted the horizon indicator and its VERY configurable.
It also begins to take up room when you start adding alot of sensors
ezosd is just that easy but not as robust as eagle tree is

but at least get something with a home location function (arrow points to home)
its way different when your looking from the camera view and without a return home arrow it can take some time to find your heading home, if you do at all
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:02 PM   #6
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Hey thanks guys for chiming in. No need to be experts here, just looking for opinions. Everyone thinks different, and uses their equipment alittle differently, im just happy that guys are actually using this stuff and happy with it.

I was thinking about keeping this setup as is for the live feed aspect, but also mounting a go pro for hd video while utilizing the dji stabilization output for a gimbal.
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:24 PM   #7
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

you can use the gopro for video feed and recording and loose the weight of the extra fpv camera, thats how I do it.
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:29 PM   #8
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satgod View Post
you can use the gopro for video feed and recording and loose the weight of the extra fpv camera, thats how I do it.
I thought it was possible. But is there any lag using the gopro? I thought i read once that some had a lag. Maybe im wrong, hell i dont even have a gopro yet . Is there any certain models i should look at without breaking the bank yet again?
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:50 PM   #9
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,977
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

The new GoPro Hero 3 is HDMI out and you can get an adapter that will work, but like you said, the lag makes it pretty bad.

The good news is that the Hero 2 (that is what I have) works well. I think there is a little lag, but it is not very noticeable. I think I read some where 10ms. I think most would not even notice it. And since the Hero 3 came out, the 2 can be had for cheap. And they still do a really nice HD video.

Here is a video from my Hero2 (same quad but flown line of site not FPV).
Select 1080 to see the detail, and remember that is after youtube compresses it.

This is my buddies house that we fly at. The glider in front of the hanger is FPV. This is great FPV location.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:10 PM   #10
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlharv View Post
The new GoPro Hero 3 is HDMI out and you can get an adapter that will work, but like you said, the lag makes it pretty bad.

The good news is that the Hero 2 (that is what I have) works well. I think there is a little lag, but it is not very noticeable. I think I read some where 10ms. I think most would not even notice it. And since the Hero 3 came out, the 2 can be had for cheap. And they still do a really nice HD video.

Here is a video from my Hero2 (same quad but flown line of site not FPV).
Select 1080 to see the detail, and remember that is after youtube compresses it.

This is my buddies house that we fly at. The glider in front of the hanger is FPV. This is great FPV location.
Very nice. After watching your video i did a search on gopro fpv lag. I think your right, the lag is technically there but not so much to cause major issues. Ill give that route more of a thought!

How often do you fly full fpv with your gopro setup? Compared to line-of-site?

thanks for sharing
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:53 AM   #11
sl4ppy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,187
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Texas
Default

The bad thing about GoPros is that if they lock up or crash (which they are prone to do), you're SOL for seeing anything. A dedicated flight cam will never lock up or crash and weighs but a few ounces.

Fly with both if you must have HD recording.
sl4ppy is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:49 AM   #12
jlharv
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,977
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneger21 View Post
Very nice. After watching your video i did a search on gopro fpv lag. I think your right, the lag is technically there but not so much to cause major issues. Ill give that route more of a thought!

How often do you fly full fpv with your gopro setup? Compared to line-of-site?

thanks for sharing
I mostly fly 3d helicopters, so I find quads pretty boring. So the plan is to only use it for FPV. That flight was just to test the gopro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy View Post
The bad thing about GoPros is that if they lock up or crash (which they are prone to do), you're SOL for seeing anything. A dedicated flight cam will never lock up or crash and weighs but a few ounces.

Fly with both if you must have HD recording.
Mine locked up the last time I flew it. The video feed keeps going, just the camera locks and you can not push any buttons and have to pull the battery to reset it.
__________________
John
nCPX , 130x, DJI f450 5.8 GHZ FPV, T-Rex 500ESP DS510, mini VBar, 13T
T-Rex 600ESP 12s, scorpion 4025 630, VBar, DS650, DS610, 14T- T-Rex 700E V2 VBar
jlharv is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 03:38 PM   #13
salience
Registered Users
 
Posts: 419
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France - Alpes-Maritimes
Default gargoyles

There goggles seem to be a better deal than the popular FatShark, better specs, corrective lenses included...
http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...fcebc6812faea5
Anyone try these?
salience is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:04 PM   #14
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

my gopro has yet to lock up but I think that has alot to do with firmware and keeping your sd card clean
as for lag the gopro 3 has a small lag and the hero2 might have some but I use my hero2 and cant see it I record at 720p 60fps could do 1080p 30fps but 60fps is nice
I can NOT honestly see how anything in the milli-seconds can even be perceived by the human eye

a dedicated cam does give one a sense of security I guess but if I get into trouble I just flip the swith on the radio and she climbs up and returns home or at least close enough for me to take LOS control . I did loose my video feed behind some buildings (5.8 doesnt penetrate well) and I hit the return home and when it cleared the building and I got video back I went back to flying again
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 09:06 PM   #15
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

for a stand alone camera system you might look at this

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=827

full 1080p at 30fps
full 720p at 60fps
and it can record video using a microSD card
its a hero2 without the extra weight
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 09:37 PM   #16
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,006
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satgod View Post
for a stand alone camera system you might look at this

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=827

full 1080p at 30fps
full 720p at 60fps
and it can record video using a microSD card
its a hero2 without the extra weight

Not bad, ill look into that!
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video


FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com