Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Airplanes Info and Support > Airplane Related

Airplane Related R/C Airplanes Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Carbon Z yak54??

I am new to planes and wanting to get my first. I have been playing alot on the simulator and know I am ready to fly one. I have been flying all kinds on the simulator so want something a little more advanced than a trainer. Here is my problem. I have found a great deal on a like new Carbon Z yak and was thinking about picking it up. I am using a DX6I and hoping to be able to tone it back in the settings. What are your opinions. I have read several places where this is not a beginner plane, so I am sure I will hear that. Is it possible to tone it back and slowly progress with this plane? Thanks for the help.
runnin2live is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2012, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

its a handfull to fly for a beginner plane, true it can be toned down with expo/dualrates etc, but the difrence with a plane of this caliber and say something like a trainer style plane is great, if you understand the concept of the style these planes fly then you can only hurt your wallet trying, however its down to how sensible you wanna do this,

this plane is light and quick, the roll rates can potentialy be disorientating for even a seasond pilot.

if you decide to get one i would recomend the following

practice hard on the sim, its good practice that helps with the thumbs,

practice landings and take offs, dont concentrate on doing stunts or anything other than circuts and landings, its boring i know but once you can fly this thing and land it without much trouble stunts and 3d come next.