Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video

FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2006, 07:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Advanced long-range helicopter

Hi,

I am a total newbee to RC Helicopters, but I was wondering if the following would be possible, and what the main problems would be:

I would like to create a helicopter that I can control over large distances (like 5 kilometres/3 miles). This would require a camera on the helicopter and some kind of a link that would allow me to see the real-time pictures, and control the helicopter. As I am a computer programmer, I have though about the current solution so far:

Place a mobile phone with a good quality camera on the helicopter and connect to it via 3g (UMTS) which allows for video conferencing.

My specific questions are:
1. What size/type of helicopter would I need to lift the mobilephone, with a couple of additional components to connect the mobile phone to the helicopter? In order to fly 5 kilometres (and back) it would need to have space for a lot of fuel.

2. Roughly how fast could this type of helicopter fly?

3. Would the shaking of the helicopter make me unable to make sence of the video?

4. How much money would the helicopter itself cost?

Regards,

David
Hulagutten is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2006, 08:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
HF Support

My HF Map location

David,