Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Hirobo Nitro Helicopters > Hirobo Electric Helicopters

Hirobo Electric Helicopters Hirobo Lepton EX, Quark and other Electric Helicopters

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default What's Up With My Head Speed?

I am pretty new to helicopters...I have a TREX 600N which I crash, and I recently built an Embla 450E. I am confused about my head speed on the Embla. The manual states 2100 - 2200 RPM for hovering and 2900 - 3100 for 3D. I can't even get the helicopter off the ground with less than 3000 RPM. I am up to 3450 RPM and it is just starting to fly normally.

So, my question is why do I have to go so high on head speed? I live at about 7000 feet above sea level, so the air is thinner. Is that what is going on?

Also, how high can I safely go on head speed? Thanks for your help.

Dave
dinosaur is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2013, 05:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

If it is not taking off at that head speed I would check your blade pitch. Not sure what the Embla is suppose to be for pitch, probably in the +10 to +12 range at full stick but it sounds like it is less than that.

Top end depends on motor, pinion, and blades (carbon vs. wood). If it is stock I would stick with the manual at around 3100. But again it depends on what components are in it.
kcgraves is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2013, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter