Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School

RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2014, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Forward flight - control explanation for a fixed wing pilot?

Somewhere along the lines I read an article that explained how the disc acts like a wing in forward flight - in terms that a fixed wing pilot could understand. I've been searching and searching and can't find it now. I'm an instrument rated private pilot with ~500 hours and am learning CP heli's. I've gone through the flight school videos at rchelicopterfun.com and am doing decent with forward flight - flying in circles in front of me as well as figure 8's. But I'm doing it by feel and haven't wrapped my head around the theory yet. As a fixed wing pilot I know the aerodynamics inside and out and that has certainly helped me over the years. On the helicopter side though I'm having trouble with knowing exactly the differences in controls between the hover and forward flight portions of flight. Anyone know of a good article that would explain this?

Thanks in advance.
Steve St.Laurent is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2014, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

I found this article on helicopter flight theory. Didn't read it in depth, but I skimmed it a bit and it looks quite good. It's sort of an article "for dummies" (no fancy math), but illustrates the basic concepts very well.

For you that have a solid background on fixed wing, it should be a piece of cake.

I hope that it helps!

Not flying anything - model or full - since 2017!
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2014, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users