Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Eagle Tree Systems

Eagle Tree Systems Onboard data loggers, telemetry, and OSD support

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default QUESTIONS ON DATA LOGGING

Hello, Im new to large electric helis, I have only flown 450 size electrics and my other nitro helis. I hear a lot about data logging and see charts posted all the time. now I am not a total noob, but I have limited experience with the larger electric power systems. I am now looking to get a 550-600 class heli, and have a few questions.

-To those who have used both the eagle tree and castle ice esc, what is the major differance between the data they collect?
-Is one more user friendly to a beginner?
-Is data logging really needed or is it more for trouble shooting?
- Any other pros and cons you can think of?

Thanks,
Brian
bkc77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2010, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

I have both, and I have to say an external logger is way better.

When I am done for the day, I simply take my eagletree with me inside, plug it in, and read the data. The eagletree software also have this playback feature which I find very interesting to watch, especially with video of the flight.

To extract the data from the Castle ESC, I have to disconnect the throttle and plug it into the castle link, so either I must have a laptop, or bring the heli inside. I dont like to do that, as it stresses the connector. They said to come with a solution with a special y-cable to make it easier, but I dont think they have come with anything yet.