Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques

Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques Painting and Airbrushing Tips / Techniques

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2008, 06:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default How to canopy Painting

Ok guys, this is it...the how to paint thread that im getting PM'd and emailed about. This is how i paint my canopies, probably other ways around it but hey, its works for me and im no expert.

First things first, get safety gear to protect your lungs!

So lets get started...this is what the canopy looked like yesterday...such a shame cause the red 500 canopy looks pretty good.

Step 1: Sanding and Preparation
This is important, if you dont do this right the end result wont look as good. Get some 320 grit wet dry sand paper and sand the canopy, sand until the factory paint lines are gone...these are raised due to excess paint. get them smooth. Then wash the canopy in warm soapy water and let it dry.

Now the canopy is dry, rub it all over with de-wax (get it from the local auto paint shop). This dries almost instantly so we can start painting on it straight away.

Step 2: Prime the canopy
Here is what you need, primer, hardener, reducer and gloves. Mine is mixed in a 4:1 ratio of primer to hardener with 10% reducer. Mix it up and we are ready to prime the canopy.

I use a gravity fed gun for this, small and very handy. Get one! I shoot this at 100psi from a general purpose 24litre air compressor.

Wipe the canopy over with a tac cloth first to remove an dust. Shoot the primer on lightly at first, and repeat until fully covered. dont go too heavy we are trying to save some weight on the canopy.

Leave the canopy to dry over night. This is a 2pac primer system and required the hardener to dry before sanding.