Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School

RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default How-To: Autos

Today I want to talk about Autos. They are one of those deceptive things that at first seems really hard, but then they seem really easy, but to do really good ones, they become really hard again

I want to share what I've recently learned in the last couple of weeks. It boils down to this one simple statement: Even at negative pitch you can pull out of a dive or FFF.

I started to notice that if I was flying forward at a decent pace, I could pull up and gain altitude even when I was at zero pitch or even less than zero pitch. This is not an obvious behavior about flying helis. With that knowledge in hand I started practicing and right off the bat I started pulling off some near perfect autos.
  1. Start off high and away
  2. Get the heli moving forward towards the direction of your landing zone.
  3. When it gets moving pitch the nose down a bit, put the collective at a few degrees negative pitch (around 1 white tick mark below center), and then hit the throttle hold. If doing an inverted auto you would use a few degrees of positive pitch...
  4. Come down about a 45 degree slope. you will be picking up more speed from the descent
  5. As you near your target gently pull up and begin to flair upwards. Do NOT touch the collective. Leave it at a couple degrees negative pitch.
  6. As the heli pulls out the the dive the head will spin up very fast. So fast you will have quite a lot of hovering time. At this point maneuvar the heli around to land in your spot.