Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School

RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2014, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Backward, inverted flight with tail blow outs?

Everyone,
I have been practicing inverted flight for several months now on the sim, and have only recently been comfortable enough to really try it on my real helis. One of the things I have noticed is that when flying backwards while inverted, I can get the tail to blow out about 180 degrees if I flip the tail up to go back upright. I've been searching the forum for backward, inverted, tail blowout issues to see what could be causing it, and haven't found anything real definite.

I'm flying a Trex 500 ESP that has been converted to FBL, using a ZYX controller. It has an 1800KV Turnigy motor with a 13T pinion, and a Hobbywing 80A Platinum Pro ESC governed at 2650 rpm. I am running Sky Lipo 3000mah/40C batteries, and also Turnigy Nanotech 3000mah/25C batteries. I have had the blowouts happen on each kind of battery. I'm running a CC 10A BEC. The tail servo is a Protek 230S full size servo.

The tail is set up in rate mode (although I've found a Finless Bob comment regarding the tail on the "certain Align models" that indicates this may not be helping matters). The tail is rock solid in upright and inverted punch outs, and all upright orientations. I can fly the heli backwards while upright with no issues. I need to test it during pitch pumps (just don't do those enough to have noticed any issues yet.) There is no binding, that I can tell (yes, I have checked). I've read that it could be caused by my own lack of skills, which is a definite possibility as my precision is not anywhere near where I want it to be yet.