Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School

RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Any tips for improving perception of heli orientation?

Hi Folks,

I feel I'm going pretty well so far. Total beginner and I've probably got 14-16 battery packs worth of flying under my belt on my Tarot 450 pro V2 FBL.

I'm quite confident with hovering and I can move about well tail-in, side on.

I have a sim and I can do a lot more on that. Inverted, circuits, etc, etc.

The next step in the real world is to try and get flat figure 8s, I just want to fly back and forth infront of me and spin it 180 at each end and then progress to end turns.

Anyway, I was flying at the weekend and the heli was further away from me and higher than usual. I had a bit of a problem with depth perception as I flew it into a tree . I cut the throttle and it fell about 8m dead. Not too much damage - bent boom, mainshaft, etc.

What I need some advice on is this: Are there any tips for dealing with depth and orientation perception? Maybe I'm getting old but once the heli gets more than 25-30m away from me I find it increasingly difficult to judge whether it's tail in or not and obviously how close I am to trees.

I guess I can do more sim practice a greater distances. Flying at a field where there is always clear sky behind the heli would help too. Any other tips?

Cheers
McBrain
McBrain is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2013, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

You're on the right track.