Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography > FPV and Real time Video

FPV and Real time Video Discussions of receiving video in realtime from the aircraft

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default first fpv setup advice, trex 500/gopro hero2

just getting into fpv and ap for fun and am looking for some setup advice. I am a reasonably experienced pilot (capable of some light 3d) with a trex 500, 450pro both running ar7200bx(2.4ghz), dx6i and a gopro hero2 to work with. tend to do these projects piecemeal and get parts in whatever order they will be most useful in, so got the helis, got the camera and got it working and mounted up, now looking for the next piece. Thinking tx/rx and monitor, then start worrying about range and telemetry after that? I also hope to be able to continue to throw my heli around, is it reasonable to think that i could make the whole system "bolt on" enough to be reasonably easy to convert back and forth to LOS? I know many of these questions have been answered in infinite forums, but i am curious to hear current impressions, especially from other heli pilots. looking to keep it simple and as cheap as possible while using decent equipment probably no goggles or camera servos at first, and really appreciate any specific equipment recommendations. Thanks and happy flyin!
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2012, 05:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

I think the live video out from the go pro has a delay , there's a reason people use a second camera for the piloting . Use a go pro just for getting HD video of your flights at the same time as your piloting fpv .