Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Scale Helicopters

Scale Helicopters Discussions About Scale Helis, compatibility and and projects

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Question Scale project - Need advice please...

I’ve been flying for about 1 year. This winter I would like to tackle a scale project. I want to model it after either a Bell 407 or an EC 135 (scale fuselage).

I have several questions and hopefully one of you can help me.

1. What electric heli would you recommend (e.g. T-Rex 550, etc.)?

2. What would be a good source for the scale fuselage?

3. How difficult is it to build a scale heli? I’m an engineer but have yet to build one.

4. What pitfalls should I avoid?

5. I have a Spektrum DX7s transmitter. What electronics would you recommend (including FBL controller, ESC, motor, etc.)?

It doesn’t have to be a 4-blade heli. I’m not sure I’m ready to attempt that yet, but maybe, depending upon what I read here. Your suggestions on this 4-blade vs. 2-blade topic are welcome.

Your suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2013, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

I like the align 550( I stretched mine to 600) same as you its my 1st of this size.For simplicity get something with a straight tail boom..only a few mounting screws hold mine in (same place as were my landing gear screws are.
superfly1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2013, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjkennedy View Post
I’ve been flying for about 1 year. This winter I would like to tackle a scale project. I want to model it after either a Bell 407 or an EC 135 (scale fuselage).

I have several questions and hopefully one of you can help me.

1. What electric heli would you recommend (e.g. T-Rex 550, etc.)?