Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos

MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default Maintenace For Protos 500

Hello

Im new to the Protos 500 I had purchased one from a HF member a few months back and as I get closer to a total strip down and re fresh of heli hardware I wanted to know.... what lubricants are out there to oil bearings and how do you go about cleaning, and general maintenance of the heli during the season. I have a Hyperion motor and I was told by the last owner to oil every 10 to 14 flight to keep the bearings happy. But what is the best product out there to use .. Whats your maintenance schedule like for your Protos 500?

Last but not least... the previous owner had the heli grounded with few wires I plan to either replace or do without. I have a carbon fiber version.. is this a wise idea to take off some of the wires and keep the tail boom grounded to the airframe/ motor mount as well as the esc? The owner said I could also use pure silicon on the belt to help keep the static charge issue to a minimum...

Solex227
solex227 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-24-2012, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Any light oil will work on the bearings. I use 3-in-1. Use grease on the thrust bearings and shafts. I use lithium grease on all my helis, including the dampers, shafts, servo gears, and thrust bearings.

I strongly recommend you keep the grounding wires. The previous owner put them there for a reason, and the Protos is know for creating lots of static issues because of the plastic tail case.
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users