Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > Hurricane 550

Hurricane 550 Discussion and support of the Gaui Hurricane 550

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2007, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default A few electronics questions / Servos.... BEC.... ESC...

I have a new Gaui Hurricane 550 kit sitting here ready for me to put together.

I want the ship to fly good, but I am not a 3-d flyer, I just do normal rightside up flight and loops and a occasional roll. I am still learning the basics in my opinion.

I have 4 Spektrum digital servos sitting here to use in the heli. So a few servo questions....

1. These servos look slightly narrower than the predrilled holes in the frame are. What is the best way to attach them?

2. All I have is the standard control horns that came with the servos. Can I use these? I noticed in the manual and Finless videos that they suggest larger round horns and the balls placed off centerline of the servo, with my horns I have on hand that would be possible with the 1 inch round horns I have but the balls would not be as far apart as they are on the helicopters bell cranks.

Okay, now onto the ESC.... I have the Gaui 50 amp ESC sitting here, all brand new and ready for soldering. But I also have a brand new Suppo 100 amp ESC sitting here too. If it were up to you guys which ESC would you use? The Suppo ESC and the instructions for it can be found at www.lightflightrc.com I was thinking of using it over the Gaui one just cause It is rated higher and I have it, but have no use for it, so might as well use it in the heli....

And about the Gaui ESC, Is it possible to use this in model airplanes? I have a pylon racer or two that run on 45-55 amp ESC's and having the Gaui as a spare would be nice.