Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > Hurricane 255

Hurricane 255 Discussion and support of the Gaui Hurricane 255

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Gaui 255 issues

Hi guys,

so I've just finnished my Hurricane 255 super combo build and had my first test flight. I'm having a problem with the tail.

I fly in heading hold mode and have 32% true gain using my DX7s. with all the trims set to 0 the nose of the bird sways to the left (tail to the right). now i can trim it out but i can't seem to find a nice center point in the trim.

I have also read a few posts where people say it shouldn't drift at all in HH mode.

This is my first build so i'm not all that sure of what i should be looking for.

If anyone can help that would be great thanks.
bobo14 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2012, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Do not trim out the rudder in Heading hold. Flip the switch into normal mode (rate mode) for your gyro and then hover. If the heli is drifting land and move your rudder servo in or out along the tail boom accordingly. Hover again. Repeat this process until you find center. After you find the range you can fine trim by screwing the pushrod link in or out. No need to trim the rudder at this point anymore. Once you've found neutral on your rudder you will have to re-establish the end points on your rudder. You dont want binding to occur because you moved the rudder servo. Once you find center in normal mode and re-establish your rudder end-points, you can fly in heading hold mode. From here on out you can play with the gain if you wish.

Last edited by glarepro; 05-01-2012 at 09:54 PM..
glarepro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users