Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters

450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Tail Wag after a crash

Well I crashed. Yes I'm new to the hobby, And I try not to fly beyond my very little skill level, but I Crashed it after 25 successfull flights on the Trex-450. I had to replace the tail boom, tail braces, and link rod, tail housing, bearings, and shaft.Now that I have got it all back together took it out for a test flight, sure enought I developed a tail wag and it bounces back and forth about 1 - 2 inches duing normal tail in hover. I haven't changed and tail blades, grips or hub, any idea's what I need to be looking for and steps I need to take to trouble shoot a tail wag after crash issue.

Thanks Tracker
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2012, 06:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Sounds like you got some vibes. Do you see your vertical stabilizer shaking as you spool up? Does it still shake when you go into IU even on the ground?

Double check the head. I noticed that the gap at the bottom of my rotor housing where the jesus bolt secures it to the shaft had split a bit wider, thus allowing my rotor head to rock back and forth (perpendicular to the jesus bolt axis) ever so slightly. There could be other damage to your head, but basically, you will want to check there.

Are your tail blade grips still good? I bent the arm on one of mine in the last crash, and while I did manage to bend it back, it took a few tries before I could see my tail rotor tracking properly (with the heli secured and looking at it from behind at 0 pitch to the tail rotor, obviously without the main blades on).