Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2008, 11:14 PM   #21
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,777
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Ooops..... sorry link fixed!
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 06:27 AM   #22
lextek
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

Thanks!
lextek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 02:59 PM   #23
CatchmyCorsair
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,792
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Default

Bob, will you be doing Fireup's static fix on this one?
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prôtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:41 PM   #24
trailblazer
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Default

nice vids Bob!
One little advice: itīs better to finally fit the (lower)servoframe to the mainframe with the main shaft inserted into the 3 bearings. Otherwise there can be a misalignment of the mainshaft and its running too stiff.
trailblazer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 08:17 PM   #25
ping
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,375
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CatchmyCorsair View Post
Bob, will you be doing Fireup's static fix on this one?
I don't even think static is an issue if you use the new pinions. The newest pinions are conductive and as you know their is only 1 continuous belt in the gear train. In my opinion any static charge would be stripped by the motor/motor mount. I did NO static mods to my airframe (one of the newest protos kits) and never had a static problem.

The original pinions had an anodized coating and were not conductive.
ping is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 08:27 PM   #26
CatchmyCorsair
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,792
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ping View Post
I don't even think static is an issue if you use the new pinions. The newest pinions are conductive and as you know their is only 1 continuous belt in the gear train. In my opinion any static charge would be stripped by the motor/motor mount. I did NO static mods to my airframe (one of the newest protos kits) and never had a static problem.

The original pinions had an anodized coating and were not conductive.
Cool! Hadn't heard about the new pinions. I'll check that off the list.
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prôtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:47 PM   #27
ping
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,375
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

An essential build point if your using JR servos (or any other servos that don't fit neatly into the plastic mounting plates) is to build the servo frames and main frames with the main shaft in all 3 bearings. Make sure it spins freely with the servos and frames tight in the frame.

I found the best way to do this is to mount the servos loosely in the servo frames (at the top AND bottom of the mounts). Begin to bolt the main frames together and follow the video at this point. Bolt the TOP servo frames to both sides of the main frame but leave the 6 BOTTOM servo frame bolts loose! Assemble the rest of the frame. Make sure you main shaft is spinning freely and tighten the servos into the top servo frames first. Then push the servo frame against the servos to square everything up and tighten the servo frames to the main frame. Finally tighten the bottom servo mounts in place. Check your main shaft again just to be sure!

I used some carbon fiber servo plates from custom heli works instead of messing with cutting the plastic ones included in the kit.
ping is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:52 AM   #28
Roadrune
Registered Users
 
Posts: 557
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stord, Norway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ping View Post
An essential build point if your using JR servos (or any other servos that don't fit neatly into the plastic mounting plates) is to build the servo frames and main frames with the main shaft in all 3 bearings. Make sure it spins freely with the servos and frames tight in the frame.

I found the best way to do this is to mount the servos loosely in the servo frames (at the top AND bottom of the mounts). Begin to bolt the main frames together and follow the video at this point. Bolt the TOP servo frames to both sides of the main frame but leave the 6 BOTTOM servo frame bolts loose! Assemble the rest of the frame. Make sure you main shaft is spinning freely and tighten the servos into the top servo frames first. Then push the servo frame against the servos to square everything up and tighten the servo frames to the main frame. Finally tighten the bottom servo mounts in place. Check your main shaft again just to be sure!

I used some carbon fiber servo plates from custom heli works instead of messing with cutting the plastic ones included in the kit.
I had the excact same experience, and fixed it the same way.
__________________
T-rex 600N, 8717, V-bar, 8900, YS50.
MSH Protos, 3517, Mini V-Bar, 3500.
JR DSX9

Rune
Roadrune is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 06:48 AM   #29
EricW
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,399
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Netherlands
Default

That is indeed a good method, i also tighten the frames with the shaft in.
Regarding static, to be sure with Spektrum satellite Rx'es..
I mount it on the lower back of the frame, not on the side of the boomblock, which seems a nice place at first.
There is plenty of room, and the cables can be nicely run inside the frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5119.jpg
Views:	503
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	70862  
__________________
One day I got stung, and now I love rotor sounds...Team RIGIDHELI.COM
T-Rex 700N Pro, Compass 7HV ult., MSH PRÔTOS
EricW is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 09:47 AM   #30
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,211
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

I was getting ready to shoot the next segment which is installing the main shaft and noticed it was tight. I realized right then what the adjustment was. I will be covering that in the next video and yes it means loosing up the screws for the servo/main bearing blocks.

Thanks for the tips guys!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 12:02 PM   #31
simmer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 554
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dracut, Ma.
Default

Finless,
I have to say, I am so glad you have decided to make this video. I will rely on this and the manual to build my new protos up. I have not cracked the box yet and its been sitting for about 2 weeks now. Seems my timing is pretty good.

I am sure I am not along in wishing you many thanks for the time and effort you put into doing all your build vodeos. You are making a big contribution to the hobby by taking your time and doing these builds and as I am sure you have heard before, it bears repeating. Thank you Thank you Thank you!
simmer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 12:05 PM   #32
ICHItheKILLER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oakland CA./Seattle WA.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simmer View Post
Finless,
I have to say, I am so glad you have decided to make this video. I will rely on this and the manual to build my new protos up. I have not cracked the box yet and its been sitting for about 2 weeks now. Seems my timing is pretty good.

I am sure I am not along in wishing you many thanks for the time and effort you put into doing all your build vodeos. You are making a big contribution to the hobby by taking your time and doing these builds and as I am sure you have heard before, it bears repeating. Thank you Thank you Thank you!
X 1000 im building right along also
ICHItheKILLER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 12:11 PM   #33
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,211
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Thanks guys.....

Talk about pressure! I hope you guys build slowly as this will take 1-2 weeks to finish schedule permitting!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:09 PM   #34
xiionn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

I dont mind as long as you get it done by Christmas.... I dont get to open my box until the big day! My wifes had it and put it away.

I am a bit worried about this ESD, or brownout issue. Are you going to add in any mods to help alleviate these issues? Anyone know if the chinese weights are available for the protos?

Thanks for doing the build, I'm building mine along to the vids im saving as you do them. Im in the UK, was wondering if your JR X9303, transmitter is the same as the 9X2, that will help set mine up too!
xiionn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:36 PM   #35
mapleleafs
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,557
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: King City, Ontario
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiionn View Post
Thanks for doing the build, I'm building mine along to the vids im saving as you do them. Im in the UK, was wondering if your JR X9303, transmitter is the same as the 9X2, that will help set mine up too!
yes they are the same......yours is just the European version.
mapleleafs is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:45 PM   #36
trailblazer
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiionn View Post
Anyone know if the chinese weights are available for the protos?
I donīt think that chinese weights are needed for the protos, because the lightweight tailbladeholder donīt produce that much countermomentum. I donīt have any problems with the not-that-strong-S9257 on the tail so far.
trailblazer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 04:48 PM   #37
ping
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,375
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiionn View Post
I am a bit worried about this ESD, or brownout issue. Are you going to add in any mods to help alleviate these issues? Anyone know if the chinese weights are available for the protos?
See my post on the issue earlier in this thread. I don't believe any static mods are necessary with the new pinions.

The tail grips have integrated chinese weights built in.
ping is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:30 PM   #38
simmer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 554
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dracut, Ma.
Default

yes tail balde holders have the weights this is a feature

"The tail grips with integrated Chinese weights so even with a mini size tail servo can have the same performance as a full size tail servo "
"
simmer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 07:52 AM   #39
Thunder Fighter
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne Oz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricW View Post
That is indeed a good method, i also tighten the frames with the shaft in.
Regarding static, to be sure with Spektrum satellite Rx'es..
I mount it on the lower back of the frame, not on the side of the boomblock, which seems a nice place at first.
There is plenty of room, and the cables can be nicely run inside the frame.
I have done this and have also made a small notch (rectagular hole) in the middle of the frames just above where you have mounted the remote rx. I then put the gyro under the tail boom so all of the wires can be feed directly through it, rather than around the side of the frame.

I will be maidening my Protos this week and with the new silver pinion and remote rx mounted down low I am not going to do the other static mods with wires.

//Dennis.
__________________
SAB Goblin 500 x 2 : SAB Goblin 700 : SAB Goblin 770C : Jeti DS-16
Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600 : CYE Stingray

Team RCBits | SAB & KBDD Field Rep | www.rcbits.com.au
Thunder Fighter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 09:31 AM   #40
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,211
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

I am going to build it completely stock first and see if I have a static problem or not. Same for any tail weight mods, etc....

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com