Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2009, 12:03 PM   #21
HeliSmith
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,887
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chico, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofcarnage View Post
Does anyone know how far the tail should slide into to the tail holder. I think i'm not set seeding my torque tube far enought. I works but looks like the push rod for the tail servo is a little short now.
Sometimes the tolerances work against you. See if the torque tube slides all the way into each end with the tail off the heli. If one end is like an interference fit you know you have to work with that end.
__________________
Field Rep for
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(I have a neck injury and I am unable to fly helis. Working on fixing this problem, be back when it's done)
HeliSmith is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 01:56 AM   #22
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Head build vids posted!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 04:06 PM   #23
fury
Registered Users
 
Posts: 535
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Default

Great vids so far Bob - thanks
__________________
X-Cell Fury 60 Expert
Hirobo Sceadu 30
Align T-Rex 500 ESP

RC budget, 100 per week, time spent building and flying, priceless!
fury is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 06:36 PM   #24
Antony Konnarides
Registered Users
 
Posts: 186
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cyprus
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by copterxsibu View Post
Nice video bob.. awaiting ur upcoming video on builds, setups & tips. ... wish I can get the T-Rex 450 Pro in Malaysia
.. too bad none of the dealers here got any of it
Just BUY one from WWW.HELIHOBBY.COM
COME ON ............
__________________
ADK
TREX 450 SE, HS65MG, 9650, GY401, Align 3K CF main Blade.
DRAGONUS II PRO, FUT S3153 DIGITAL SERVOS, GY401, Align 450XL .
TREX 600CF, 9255'S, GY401 9254, Fut 138 DP RX.
TREX 500CF, 4x9257 on 6 volt, GY401, 6S 2500's EVOLITE'S, 13T, 2700HS.
Antony Konnarides is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:05 AM   #25
LITHIUMSTATIC
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,683
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: McKinney TX
Default

Looking good Bob....
__________________
Just a guy and his heli....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LITHIUMSTATIC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:19 AM   #26
jrumer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 492
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lexington, Ky
Default

Looks like another great build by the Finnman !! we do appreciate it !! Also I am amazed at how fast Align goes from thought to design and to testing then production, I would love to see their setup like the vid John did from Kasama . Bob we need you to go to China for your next build !! Tell your wife I said it was okay !!
__________________
please overlook spelling as it is a crap shoot like my flying!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jrumer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:53 AM   #27
btsai
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Default

Is this going to be a 3S or 4S configuration?

Last edited by btsai; 04-24-2009 at 11:14 PM..
btsai is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:37 PM   #28
ping
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,374
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

Just a quick build tip. Build the frames and servo carrier before the head. You will need a mainshaft to ensure the main shaft bearings spin freely and are not mis-aligned when you bolt the servos into the servo frame.

I also highly recommend your rebuild the entire heli, mine was about 50/50 on locktight. I don't know why they bothered shipping this thing pre-assembled. I spent more time disassembling and reassembling everything correctly then I would have building a kit from scratch.
ping is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:53 PM   #29
HeliSmith
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,887
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chico, California
Default

Yeah they hit and mis with the thread lock, lol They assemble it because newer people might not realize how the parts work together easily. I too wish they sold it completely disassembled.

This heli is so much easier to build then previous versions even my all time favorite before this was the Trex 450 SE V2. Me I build a lot of 450 helis I do it for work and I will build the frame servos installed moving the right way, wires zip tied all nice in neat. Now with the super pro I can even finish the tail servo in this step.
__________________
Field Rep for
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(I have a neck injury and I am unable to fly helis. Working on fixing this problem, be back when it's done)
HeliSmith is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 10:49 PM   #30
knightofcarnage
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago
Default

Hey final got my 450 pro setup, the wiring was lots of fun. Here are my pics for it, and 1 question. will i get interference from the motor? Right now i have no problems.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02536.jpg
Views:	1694
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	93678   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02535.jpg
Views:	1583
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	93679   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02534.jpg
Views:	1539
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	93680   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02533.jpg
Views:	1583
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	93681   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02532.jpg
Views:	1436
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	93682  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02531.jpg
Views:	1433
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	93683  
knightofcarnage is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 11:03 PM   #31
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Been eyeballing wiring.... Not going to do it quite like that but close... Lets hope there is not a motor noise problem as I almost see no other way to make the wires reach going through the tail.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 11:16 PM   #32
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,557
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeliSmith View Post
We at HeliHobby are the honored ones Finless thank you for the kind words and the really nice plugs. Can't wait to see your videos on this heli I personally don't miss any of them for any heli and I am sure that it is true with all of us here. What you do is amazing and HeliFreak is the best forum on earth. Being able to contribute to that is truly our honor.

We all watched it today we could tell how excited you were. This heli just makes me want a 450 again, well one I wanna fly I mean.. I am definitely going to get me one of these soon.

Glad to see they fixed the torque tube.
I agree with you on wanting to get anther 450. I just got my 45-PRO from RCHover and all the stuff today. I am downloading the Finless vids now, and I am going to build it tomorrow right beside my son playing wii and I hope he will notice.....
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 11:17 PM   #33
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,557
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofcarnage View Post
Hey final got my 450 pro setup, the wiring was lots of fun. Here are my pics for it, and 1 question. will i get interference from the motor? Right now i have no problems.
Nice 520, how do you likey?

Very clean wiring setup. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 11:19 PM   #34
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,557
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ping View Post
Just a quick build tip. Build the frames and servo carrier before the head. You will need a mainshaft to ensure the main shaft bearings spin freely and are not mis-aligned when you bolt the servos into the servo frame.

I also highly recommend your rebuild the entire heli, mine was about 50/50 on locktight. I don't know why they bothered shipping this thing pre-assembled. I spent more time disassembling and reassembling everything correctly then I would have building a kit from scratch.
Thank you for the heads-up!!
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 01:31 AM   #35
NotEnoughTime
Registered Users
 
Posts: 823
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alaska
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Been eyeballing wiring.... Not going to do it quite like that but close... Lets hope there is not a motor noise problem as I almost see no other way to make the wires reach going through the tail.

Bob
Copied my wiring the same as Bert K. Came out great. Front Servos and esc wires split each side of the motor and get ty wraped to the bottom plate circular area below the motor. Rear servo and gyro leads come around the main gear (rear servo utilizes one ty wrap location on the frame above the main gear) and enter in a small circular hole in the frame next to the main gear. Sanded the frames and the hole the wiring enters. Might add some edging later if chafing becomes a issue. Wiring is Very clean and secure.
NotEnoughTime is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 10:53 AM   #36
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

A bunch of videos posted!

Folks... it's going to be interesting on the tail and I need some time so SHOW you all the deal here.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:42 AM   #37
knightofcarnage
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillJames View Post
Nice 520, how do you likey?

Very clean wiring setup. Thanks for sharing.
I love the 520, its great on the 450,500 and 250 don't have one yet on the 600.
knightofcarnage is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:59 AM   #38
wilywampa
Registered Users
 
Posts: 608
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Default

Finless,

Your tail assembly part 1 video doesn't seem to be working. It cuts out after the intro. I downloaded it twice and tried it in two different players. All the other videos work fine. Just letting you know... Thanks for all the work!
wilywampa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 12:05 PM   #39
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Yep... I see that. Reuploading but please give it 15 minutes!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 12:06 PM   #40
fast400
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,849
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: michigan
Default

ok guys i know this is off subject, but cant seem to find an answer anywhere else.
so i hope finless you can answer this for me.

i am useing the stock 25a esc on my blade 400 and just this week smoked the motor and esc.

so heres my question. will this motor work with the stock 25a esc

http://www.cnchelicopter.com/servlet...ss-moto/Detail
__________________
Crashs come easy Patience does`nt

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
retired the 3 year old blade400
fast400 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com