Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 10:41 AM   #1
RCfan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Longwood, FL USA
Default Programming tips for the 12Z

This post will be used to list programming tips, suggestions, procedures and other useful information relating to programming the 12Z.

Posts NOT adhering to the above description, will be DELETED.

The TITLE of each post must summarize what it's about, e.g. "Programming the GV1".

If you have questions, you see problems in a post that require correction or otherwise want to comment on a post in this thread, please either PM the original poster directly or open a SEPARATE topic and reference the post in question from there. DO NOT ADD REPLIES TO THIS THREAD!

Tip away ... :mrgreen:
RCfan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 11:04 AM   #2
RCfan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Longwood, FL USA
Default Official 12Z FAQ

Official 12Z FAQ

Always consult the official 12Z FAQ section from Futaba before asking for help. Many questions are already answered in their info.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/faq-12z.html
RCfan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 07:34 PM   #3
Jason Bell
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,826
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chico, Ca
Default

Servo Acceleration


Ok i was wondering how complicated this is to do, and if it makes noticiable difference in flight with quikness? Also on the pich how would you do it for the pitch same way as for the elevator and aileron?
__________________
Avant RC Factory Pilot / A Main Hobbies Customer Service.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Representing: Team Avant, A Main Hobbies, YS Engines, Scorpion Power Systems, Optipower, Spektrum RC, Castle Creations, Insane Canopy
Jason Bell is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 02:19 PM   #4
RickyM
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: England
Default

The acceleration feaure is for pitch only on heli, think you can other channel asignment for planks, I use this on all my machines and the ammount used depends on blades and dampners. For v blades 690 I use 35 acceleration with 25% dumping and set the act position to 10% stick and 90% stick and the normal pitch setting to around + - 12 deg For 710 v blades you need to reduce things a bit first the total colective to + - 11 and acceleration to 20% keep dumping the same
Head dampers are important here too soft and the heli puts alot of cyclic interaction in when you punch it and too hard the same result but a bit less!
For all other blades Radix SAB ect Set acceleration to 35-40% and dumping to 30 this will wake up any blade that may feel spongey when hard pitch reversals are given, You can ofcource increase theese values alot but run the risk of serious binding as the extra pitch delivery is too fast to see and check for binding!!
switch it on it's a blast!!!! :twisted:
__________________
Use the force!
RickyM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 07:59 PM   #5
hoot
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Default

I downloaded the latest 12Z update software. The new "Virtual Cyclic Ring" is great.
Also yes it does up the PPM to 12 channels. It's selectable 8/12. This is good for the XPS Universal 10 channel module since it plugs into the trainer port and needs the PPM side.
hoot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:07 PM   #6
DavidH
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

Why would you want to use the XPS module and only have 10 channels? When you can use the Futaba 2.4 ghz module for the 12Z/14MZ and have 12 channels plus the 2048 resolution that is used now with G3.

David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 03:13 AM   #7
Trooper Sam
Registered Users
 
Posts: 855
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Perris, CA UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Default

Some people are going to go with what's available now, as opposed to waiting. I'd say cost might be an issue, but I have a hard time selling that one to myself when it's a $1200 radio involved.
__________________
Trooper Sam

-Planks are like feel-good buddy movies, and helis are like horror movies. You just gotta like being scared.
Trooper Sam is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 04:43 AM   #8
hoot
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Default

I guess the big thing is cost. I don't need 12 channels. 10 is more than enough for my near term future.

For $199 XPS sells the module and the receiver. 10 channel receivers $99 each.
XPS looks to have a great system. It's based on military technology. It has some neat future potential to feed back data like battery voltage and engine temp... already built in. I had the sensor module in my hand at Toledo. XPS will deliver. They are proving it every day while Futaba and JR are crying because they missed the boat. The little antenna is drawing me near. I would bet XPS will give us the rest of the channels if we need them.

Futaba is gonna be a wallet snatcher...

Figure $300 for the module and $300+ for each receiver. I have 5 helis.

Fully equip...

XPS $600
Futaba $1800+

Right now I'm flying 1024 PCM with my 12Z cause I sold off my G3 receivers before the big price collapse. On the bench I see NO latency when I move my sticks. XPS resolution is way up there. I don't think latency is a problem at this point. I think Futaba pricing is a problem. Look at G3 receivers... nobody wants them because they are questionable. They are proof that Futaba isn't perfect and I don't feel they can justify their pricing structure because of the G3 debacle. They must be pocketing the R&D money.

With that track record, will Futaba FASST be reliable? Who knows? They were in 2.4ghz for a long time and only now are making it available due to competition. Why is that?
hoot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 04:30 AM   #9
tiranosaurus rex
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mudgee
Default

Hey guys,

Does the Futaba 12Z have the pitch dumb function as its older brother does ?
__________________
cheers,
Caleb

MA Fury Extreme:
OS.90 C-spec | MP2 | GV-1 | 9252's | GY611/9256 | RS770s | 4.8v 3600mah subC | V 690's / V 105 tails / V paddles

ALIGN T-REX 600 N (Up next)
OS.50SX-h Hyper | hatori 522 | 9252's | GY611/9256 | RS770s | 4.8v 3600mah subC | Radix 600's | NHP 95mm tails

JR X2610 trany
Reflex XTR sim

TakeoffandLand
Coolpower

'Don't be dumb...use the sim'
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tiranosaurus rex is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 08:12 AM   #10
DavidH
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

Don't know exactly what your referring to. But the 12Z has the same functions as the 14 as far as the programming to fly a heli.

David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 09:31 AM   #11
mpshaw
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Default

Where in the Futaba site is there a link to these updates for the 12Z?

Michael
mpshaw is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 01:47 PM   #12
DavidH
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

On the Futaba Flyers Club in the Download section is all the updates for the radios. You have to be logged on to the FFC to be able to download them.
The last 12Z update is dated 3/21/2007 update 1 1 0
This is the one that added the electronic cyclic ring and the A & B selectable modulation for the transmitter.
David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:49 PM   #13
SoCalMike
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Default

Three reasons for the Xtreme choice are: it works; it's inexpensive; it offers enough channels for most of us.

I bought the 8-channel for my 9303, as I am using just 7 channels for my electric 50-sized.
I had persistent glitches one/flight, sometimes two, which I could not eliminate by boom-grounding, etc. But RFI cuts off at around 300 MHZ, and, sure enough, now that I fly 2.4 Ghz, no more glitches.

I was recently seriously considering a 12Z - not for helis, but for fixed-wing IMACs - but when I read the Futaba response to the "what's wrong with the G3 receiver" question, I decided to wait on this one until it comes out in native 2.4 Ghz..

I will stay with my old and true 9ZAPS until then..
SoCalMike is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:19 AM   #14
DavidH
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalMike View Post
Three reasons for the Xtreme choice are: it works; it's inexpensive; it offers enough channels for most of us.

I bought the 8-channel for my 9303, as I am using just 7 channels for my electric 50-sized.
I had persistent glitches one/flight, sometimes two, which I could not eliminate by boom-grounding, etc. But RFI cuts off at around 300 MHZ, and, sure enough, now that I fly 2.4 Ghz, no more glitches.

I was recently seriously considering a 12Z - not for helis, but for fixed-wing IMACs - but when I read the Futaba response to the "what's wrong with the G3 receiver" question, I decided to wait on this one until it comes out in native 2.4 Ghz..

I will stay with my old and true 9ZAPS until then..

Did you post this in the wrong thread? I don't see where it has anything to do with programming tips for the 12Z.

David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 07:08 AM   #15
lrogers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 341
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mobile, Al. USA
Default programing updates

When purchased, is there a way to tell if the latest programing was done at the factory?
__________________
Larry R. Rogers
Helinut 1st Class
B.O.S.S. member "Dragon Balls"
lrogers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 02:36 AM   #16
tgo
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: HK
Default

Hi Hoot / SoCalMike,
I just moved from JR 9XII + XPS to 12FG 2.4. Well, the 12FG's response time is much faster than XPS !
If you guys love XPS, I have the TX module and many receivers for sell, all in good condition and lifetime warranty. Will you consider them?

Tony

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalMike View Post
Three reasons for the Xtreme choice are: it works; it's inexpensive; it offers enough channels for most of us.

I bought the 8-channel for my 9303, as I am using just 7 channels for my electric 50-sized.
I had persistent glitches one/flight, sometimes two, which I could not eliminate by boom-grounding, etc. But RFI cuts off at around 300 MHZ, and, sure enough, now that I fly 2.4 Ghz, no more glitches.

I was recently seriously considering a 12Z - not for helis, but for fixed-wing IMACs - but when I read the Futaba response to the "what's wrong with the G3 receiver" question, I decided to wait on this one until it comes out in native 2.4 Ghz..

I will stay with my old and true 9ZAPS until then..
tgo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 08:18 PM   #17
ErichF
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,951
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL 32606
Default

Heh, I just did the exact same thing...not because of XPS, but because I wanted the advanced programming/trimming features of the 12FGH.

I will be selling off my XP9303 and XPS Mod/RX too.
ErichF is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:57 PM   #18
titanchin
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Malaysia
Default

Very good transmitter!!!
titanchin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 11:18 AM   #19
SR-71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 12Z and R6717FS Receiver

Anyone using the 12Z (with TM-14) with the Futaba R617FS receiver? If so, can you tell me which channel numbers (on the receiver) map to which heli's servos? Heli is an Align 600.

Thanks

SR-71
SR-71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:56 PM   #20
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Go into the linkage/function menu to see the channel assignments
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com