Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters


Compass Model Helicopters Compass Model Helicopter Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 01:39 PM   #1
Dflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,664
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default Governor sensor install pics please ?

Hi,

can any of you guys post some pics on how you have mountend the sensor for you governor ? I'm talking about sensors for Model Avionics or Align governors !

Thanks,
grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/ CY Stingray / BO 105
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 04:29 PM   #2
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,767
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Is this on the new Knight 3D? I'd recommend buying a Spektrum backplate sensor and adapting it as needed to work with the governor. I know the Align governor will work with it after http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=100432.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar)

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 04:54 PM   #3
Dflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,664
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default

Yep Alan,

it's for the new K3D, but allready have the Align governor laying around ! How does the Spektrum backplate sensor work ? Can it work in combination with the Align governor ?

Grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/ CY Stingray / BO 105
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:11 PM   #4
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,767
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dflyer View Post
it's for the new K3D, but allready have the Align governor laying around ! How does the Spektrum backplate sensor work ?
It senses the actual crank on the crankshaft through the backplate. All you have to do is unscrew two backplate bolts, run them through the sensor bracket, and then screw them back into the crankcase.

Quote:
Can it work in combination with the Align governor ?
See the link embedded in my reply above.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar)

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 12:44 PM   #5
Dflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,664
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default

Hi Alan,

sorry i missed the link in you first post. Thanks for the info, but i allready made something myself to fit the Align sensor, i'll post a pic later !

Grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/ CY Stingray / BO 105
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 25,471
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBum View Post
SNIP

See the link embedded in my reply above.
Bum,

I found this thread:

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread....60#post1484460

Is there a different one pertaining to this issue? I couldn't get a link to work in your other reply.

TIA!!
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1, WARP 360 - VX1n
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:40 AM   #7
helinewby
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando Fl
Default spectrum backplate

were can you buy the spectrum backplate. I have the atg and a revlock 20 so i dont really care wich one i use..

thanks C.B.
helinewby is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 08:06 AM   #8
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,767
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helinewby View Post
were can you buy the spectrum backplate. I have the atg and a revlock 20 so i dont really care wich one i use..

thanks C.B.
Just about anywhere. Just do a search for "spektrum sensor" on your favorite hobby shop website. Here's the page for ReadyHeli:

http://www.readyheli.com/Spektrum_Re..._p/spm6823.htm

If you want a better quality sensor than the one Spektrum makes, check out AlumaFX's sensor. It has all CNC brackets, whereas the Spektrum sensor is all plastic.

http://www.alumafx.com/
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar)

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:26 AM   #9
skunkworx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,336
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

Thanks a lot Bum (you jerk!). As if I didn't have enough crap to go spending money on, you point out one more!!! Bah!!!!

I second the notion of doing the alumafx sensor. The spektrum has a metal bracket upgrade, but I'm not too sure how much it is and where to get it from. They all do it much the same, so I wouldn't worry about a difference in reliability.
__________________
Tim - Atom 500, 6HV, 3D+, eAurora
KBDD TEAM PILOT
Compass support/ProStarHobby.com
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 12:56 PM   #10
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,767
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

I started out with the Spektrum, but I switched over to the AlumaFX after the plastic piece attached directly to the sensor broke right through the middle of the "50" hole during a crash, making it impossible to clamp the sensor to the bracket that attaches to the backplate bolts.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar)

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters


Compass Model Helicopters Compass Model Helicopter Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com