Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2009, 06:06 PM   #61
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Which one please?

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:15 PM   #62
DannyZRC
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

stick timer video, links to "autotimer.wmv.wmv", I removed the extraneous .wmv and it worked fine, so the file is there, the link is just typo'd
DannyZRC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:25 PM   #63
wrstew
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Just revisited, and deleting the extra .wmv does the trick......didn't see it the first time. good catch, thanks, Randy
wrstew is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:31 PM   #64
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Ah OK... I didn't see it in my HTML tags... All fixed!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 03:16 PM   #65
askiba
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Israel
Default

Bob, I've got a question about the timer. If I want to pause the timer also when the stick is at the bottom position and also on the hold, is it possible? From the video it looks that I would need 3 conditions programmed: stick going from high position to low OR switch 5 OR switch 6, and apparently it's not possible. Do you have a tip how to set it the best?
askiba is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 04:26 PM   #66
Tyler
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicagoland
Default stick timer

I have my timer set up like this:

I set a start point at 50% throttle stick AND normal mode.

I set a stop point at throttle hold.


When I am in normal mode the timer will start as I pass through 50%. Once I enter a hover I can switch into any flight mode and the timer will continue to run.

No matter what flight mode I am in, the timer will stop when I hit throttle hold.

After landing an auto I flip out of my idle up mode and back into normal. Next, I flip out of hold.

As I advance the throttle again the timer will start where it left off as I pass through 50%.


You can set your start point anywhere you want: 20%, 40%, 73%, etc. I choose 50% because my electric helis aren't really drawing any major power from the battery pack until I hit 50% or higher.


I have found this setup to work extremely well for ME!

Don't forget that you can start and stop the timer whenever you want using the default "+/-" buttons on the face of the radio, even after programming the stick switches, etc. Both systems still function.

Enjoy,
Tyler
Tyler is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 03:11 PM   #67
sd0
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murrieta Ca.
Default

Goddamn, my SD-10G fell off my neckstrap today, right onto asphalt, put a couple of nice gouges in the front of the case, and bent one of the switches. It still works fine, but I cannot stand to look at the damage. I will send it in and have the switch and entire case replaced, hope it won't cost me too much. I have always heard that ATX service is good and fast. I feel really stupid for doing it, and then I broke the clutch on my 600 on the second flight, today was my worst day of flying in a long long time, I have never crashed a radio before. Sorry for the rant but I wanted to vent.

This radio is still BADASS, I'm just a moron.
sd0 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:48 AM   #68
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Bummer man! Let us know how the repair goes.

How did it fall off your neck strap?

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 11:23 AM   #69
sd0
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murrieta Ca.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Bummer man! Let us know how the repair goes.

How did it fall off your neck strap?

Bob

I had just put it on and I guess I didn't get it hooked all the way, I leaned over to pick up my 600 and it fell off. It looked like it happened in slow motion, of course it rolled over and hit the asphalt face down.
sd0 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:12 AM   #70
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,246
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Man sorry to hear that sd! I am a radio dropper myself. I dropped my 9Z, and my 9303 both resulting in having to get them fixed. I would be curious to hear how ATX handles you as I am considering the purchase of the SD-10 myself.
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:08 AM   #71
hillar73
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fl
Default

How does the sd-10 balances from the neck strap? is it top (antenna) or bottom heavy (battery)
hillar73 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:56 AM   #72
sd0
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murrieta Ca.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hillar73 View Post
How does the sd-10 balances from the neck strap? is it top (antenna) or bottom heavy (battery)
It balances perfectly, level, with no funky robot arm adapters needed.
sd0 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 01:27 AM   #73
rcjames
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,179
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd0 View Post
It balances perfectly, level, with no funky robot arm adapters needed.
can you post us pic of the damage radio?
__________________
Hi my name is Jim and I am a Heliholic. Darn Heli-Crack Addiction!! lol
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE!
rcjames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 01:49 PM   #74
RMG2
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,001
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oregon, USA
Default

Someone on an earlier page ask if this TX would bind and function with other brands RXs? I didn't see that the question was answered??? Can folks use this TX with their multitude of acquired Spektrum or Futaba 2.4 receivers?

Thanks.
RMG2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 02:17 PM   #75
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

No, like all radio makers the implementation of 2.4 is thier own. JR doesnt work with Futaba and visa versa, nor does AT.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 10:28 PM   #76
sd0
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murrieta Ca.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjames View Post
can you post us pic of the damage radio?

Here are the unfortunate pix, I know it might not look that bad to you guys, but I am kinda obsessive about my stuff, I hate scratches and dents, especially when they are my fault for being stupid. At least the gimbals were not damaged, as far as I know, I will have them checked while its getting serviced. In the meantime, I'm gonna buy an RDS8000, and switch out the Rx in my nitro, so I can fly while ATX has my Tx. I have no idea how long it will take, and I really need to fly at least every weekend. Also this incident has taught me that I should probably have a backup radio on hand for events like this.










sd0 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 11:26 AM   #77
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,246
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

OUCH!! Sorry to see the carnage.

On a brighter note, I have my son home sick today for the 6th day in a row and I sat down and watched a bunch of Finless SD-10G videos. I am seriously considering upgrading from my 12X to this radio. Very interesting, thank you for the vids Bob, thank you Terry and Mike at HobbyPeople for getting the radio to Bob so that us regular guys could learn about it!!!
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 03:22 PM   #78
askiba
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Israel
Default

Finally I've got my radio and have a few tips to share.

First of all, order it on e-bay! I found one for $420 (+shipment from Hong Kong).

Next one - buy mode 1. It converts to mode 2 easily, BUT! In mode 1 radio the trainer switch (which returns to the middle position) is switch 1-2-3. It's the one on top right, exactly where I'd like it to be. I programmed it to be yes/no to change things like gyro gain in flight.

Next thing, as I asked earlier how to stop timer when entering Throttle Hold or when Throttle stick is lowered. Bob explained in his video how to make it stop on switch position 5 or 6, but there is a better trick. If normal position is 4, it cannot get to 6 without passing position 5! So, it's possible to program stop on throttle passing 90% to low position OR switch 5. It will catch switching from 4 to 6 as well, hope my explanations make sense.

Bob, thank you again for the videos, I would not dare to order this uncommon radio without your demonstrations.
askiba is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:33 PM   #79
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by askiba View Post
Bob, thank you again for the videos, I would not dare to order this uncommon radio without your demonstrations.
Dude..... and I am not kidding here and Will James will back me up as I told him this today while we were talking on the phone and he was asking me about getting a new radio....

This radio ROCKS! I am surprised myself honestly since I have always dealt with JR or Futaba and NEVER Airtronics... BUT I am falling in love with this radio! The more a learn and do to shoot videos about it, the more I see this damn radio has HUGE capabilities! I might just make this my #1 radio! Just have to get it in a heli now!

AT got it right on this radio in my opinion! SERIOUSLY.... Anyone looking for a radio to upgrade to should have a serious look at this one and that my friends is NO BS. I like this radio a lot!
Give me some more time to fly it and so forth but for now, I consider this radio one of the best products of 2009! And again I will say it again... NO BS from me on this point.... Not selling out to AT or anything as I have no "stings" in the game with them..... Just want users to be aware there is another choice out there and this is a damn good one!

Terry Moore... You suck!
I never believed your opinions about AT as I felt you were baised... YOU got me into this mess of trying this radio! YOU my friend proved to me there are other choices out there other than "what everyone buys" that actually is better than the usual "shit"..... Damn... I hate to say you were right but you got me hooked! Thanks

Guys and any Gals.... take a good look at this radio if your thinking about buying. BUY based on what you like and what any radio has to offer but seriously don't toss out this radio because it is not what everyone else is using! Hold it, feel it, and decide! Radios are a personal thing and go with what you like! TRUST that I will be doing more build videos using this radio as I personally like it!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:48 PM   #80
rcjames
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,179
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno California
Default

SD0, wow its not that bad. Why spend many $$ for a new case. And labor. Spend that money on a new receiver.
__________________
Hi my name is Jim and I am a Heliholic. Darn Heli-Crack Addiction!! lol
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE!
rcjames is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com