Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2015, 02:20 PM   #1
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default 450l with 7200 and dx6 settings?

New helicopter arrived, and am wanting to get started on setting this thing up. I have the newer black dx6, heli came with a 7200. Can anyone point me in the dirextion to the settings for the radio? I googled but im not finding anything? I also assume ill need a satallite rx, and all the settings on the 7200 are in the middle.
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:59 PM   #2
lahannsven
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Luxembourg
Default

You don't need a satellite.

Don't use the potis of the 7200 at the beginning. Leave everything at default.
Also only run setup menu. Parameter menu can also be left at default.

The transmitter sets a high throttle curve Normal mode: 0,95,95,95,95
, pitch 40,45,50,75,100

Gyro at the beginning low: 25%

Transmitter: Swash plate servos at normal.

No Subtrim. , Travel adjust: default, no change

Dual rates for Aileron , Elevator: 50% beginner, 100% advanced
Expo. Aileron, Elevator: 40% beginner, 7% advanced

Dual rate Rudder: 100%, Expo: 0%, beginner and advanced



Sven
lahannsven is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 08:50 PM   #3
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

Thank you. I am unsure what the default settings are on the 7200. I should also mention it has the castle esc, not the align one. I'll see if I can remember how to add a new channel, and program and bind the new heli-havent had to do that since feb of this year!
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 09:18 PM   #4
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

Did you buy the heli used?

If so, I would check every setting in both menu's

If not, I would still check them

The pitch curve suggested above is only for Normal Mode

The reverses will depend on the servo's you have, and most of the other DX6 settings will be typical to other cp programming (450X setup attached)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DX6setup.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	610444  
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 09:36 PM   #5
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

I shoukd say the heli was bought used. Align servos, castle esc, align motor, 6s, and 7200. My radio usually used for my 130x is a dx6. So, i need to set up everything in the radio for this heli
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 09:53 PM   #6
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

You will most certainly need to check each and every menu setting in both menu's...

No way to know what the previous owner had

Better to check and be sure than guess or hope and end up with a pile of broken parts on the maiden...

Have you ever set up an AR7200BX before?
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:02 PM   #7
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

Nope! And radio was brand new when i bought it
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:05 PM   #8
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

Then My advice is to do what I did...I have the DX9 and traded My 350QX for a 450X...

First thing to do...get a local "heli guru" to set it up for you and show you how the settings work

If you even try to spool it up before the AR7200BX is set up correctly...

You've got a jumble of broken parts
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:35 PM   #9
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

I think the big issue around here is no one really flies a trex a ton, but i can figure it out.

New channel made, named, and binded to the heli. Just need all the channels like hold on the radio set up, and then all the curves and gyro and etc.
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:48 PM   #10
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

You're forgetting some things...like the AR7200BX settings

The settings that are there now may not coincide with your DX9

There are more than a dozen checks and settings to do so the AR7200BX can take your stick inputs and determine how best to turn them into servo movement

Your DX9 doesn't control the servos...it's not as simple as setting up a 130X

If you don't do the recv'r setup, it's doomed to end badly

Without going thru the AR7200BX setup, you cannot even be sure that the DX9 is controlling the TC, PC and other functions that are taken for granted with the 130X files
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 11:22 PM   #11
Nelsonisms
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,529
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Default

I agree there. I mean you can roll the dice and hope the guy you bought it from set it up properly or you can spend a little time and learn to configure and verify the setup in the flybarless system. Without knowing anything about how it was configured and whether it was flight worthy you'd be taking a big chance there. Even if it were set up perfectly you'll need to know how to do it if (make that when) you crash and need to set it back up, so you might as well bite the bullet and figure it out now.

There are a bunch of good videos here on Helifreak in the BeastX forum and decent explanations in the AR7200BX manual. But once you kind of get what each of the menu steps does, having the AR7200BX programming chart is all most people need to get through it.
__________________
Gaui X5F 6S (VBar), Lynx 450X-L 6S (Ikon), Lynx 300X-L 4S (Ikon), Blade 180CFX 3S (Ikon)
Lumenier QAV400 4S (Vector), Lumenier QAV250 3S (Naze32/CleanFlight), CYE Stingray 500 4S (TG Multi)
AMA Member, HCAM Member
Nelsonisms is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 11:24 PM   #12
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

Dx6. And i also need the instructions for that, as well as calibrating the castle 50a esc.
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 11:36 PM   #13
Nelsonisms
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,529
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Default

Here's a couple of threads I've been involved in a while back where we discussed a couple of different ways to achieve throttle calibration with the AR7200BX and Castle ESC.

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=628595

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=604401

I'm sorry I can't help with the DX6 since I don't have that radio and have no way to verify that.

I assume it would essentially be the same as the chart Jon posted above, but you'll certainly want to verify everything is operating properly on the heli. It probably goes without saying but do all your initial setup with the blades removed.
__________________
Gaui X5F 6S (VBar), Lynx 450X-L 6S (Ikon), Lynx 300X-L 4S (Ikon), Blade 180CFX 3S (Ikon)
Lumenier QAV400 4S (Vector), Lumenier QAV250 3S (Naze32/CleanFlight), CYE Stingray 500 4S (TG Multi)
AMA Member, HCAM Member
Nelsonisms is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 12:03 AM   #14
cajkat1073
Registered Users
 
Posts: 887
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Louisville, kentucky
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostinSwifty38 View Post
I think the big issue around here is no one really flies a trex a ton, but i can figure it out.

New channel made, named, and binded to the heli. Just need all the channels like hold on the radio set up, and then all the curves and gyro and etc.
I tell you what I will do. I'm going to PM you my cell tomorrow when your ready text me to make sure I'm available and I will walk you through the 7200bx set up and CC set up. Hopefully the last person who owned it has the swash and links on the grips set pretty close already. You really just need to reset the Beast X and start from scratch. It's quick and easy to set it up. Do you own a pitch gauge? If not that's where you need to start.
__________________
Alees Rush 700 x3, Alees Rush 750, 180cfx, 250 quad racers, OMG servos, Force batteries
cajkat1073 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 08:52 AM   #15
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

Pitch gauge went out the door with the old 450's i had.

Previous owner was chris pfligler.

Thanks for the help. I work, then race sedan, but ill try and stop at the hobby shop and get w pitch gauge.
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 11:53 AM   #16
lahannsven
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Luxembourg
Default

For the default settings of AR7200bx:
You can reset the AR7200bx, look at the manual.

The potis are at default horizontal, 9 ' clock. This is the optimum for a 450.

Sven
lahannsven is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 08:38 PM   #17
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

No manuals for anything came with the heli. If someone could email me or write something up id be greatly appreciated. I dont wanna screw this up, i want it right so ill be taking my time.
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 08:50 PM   #18
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

Post #4 shows a "good start" setup for the DX6

Post #11 above has the link for the AR7200BX

Be absolutely sure you know the difference between Setup Mode and Parameter Mode in the AR7200BX Manual
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 11:43 PM   #19
BoostinSwifty38
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eagan, MN
Default

Call me stupid, but i do not see a 1 servo 90 degree for the swash on my radio
BoostinSwifty38 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 11:44 PM   #20
JonJet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

It's the default setting...go on to the next setup step
__________________
mCPX(44)*HCP100S*mCPX BL(4)*130X(36) * 150X(7) * 180CFX(14) * 230S(2) * 250CFX 270CFX * 300X
nanoQX NanoQX3D * 180QX * DX9 HF#180060
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.