Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2015, 11:57 AM   #1
loftrat
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Unhappy Starting to Really Dislike Phoenix

I'm still learning to hover and getting used to controls, unfortunately I only have an mCPx BL and a 120SR so when it's breezy outside I need another way to practice.

I picked up a copy of Phoenix, hoping that this would be the answer, but I'm really starting to dislike (almost hate) flying in it.

For starters it just doesn't feel realistic - I can hover in all four orientations IRL but cannot get any helicopter in Phoenix to sit still. Everything drifts and wanders across the sky with varying levels of craziness. I'm constantly battling to stop the thing getting away from me (and this is with no breeze at all) so the chances of me moving on to forward flight and turns just seems to be slim to none right now.

Phoenix also seems to randomly glitch, and I get either a spike in pitch or power that sends whatever model I'm flying shooting upwards by about 20ft.

I know I need to spend time in the sim' in order to improve my flying (because there's no way I can put in enough hours IRL due to weather, batteries, space, etc) but I find it so demoralising / demotivating that every time I do I just never want to go back to it again.

What can / should I do to make this thing behave a little? Would I be better with a different sim'? Am I expecting too much?
loftrat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 12:18 PM   #2
Whomprat
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tallahassee
Default

Try playing with the camera setting. I think I have mine set to always show the ground, it helps from getting wonky. When I was first learning I used the AVant 90 model. It was quick but still stable. It felt the most similar to my blade 400 at the time. If you can hover on phoenix, then you can easily do it in real life.

No idea on the glitching, I've never heard of that.
__________________
Blade McpX / MQX / 6hv (sold)
3DHS 51" AJ Slick / Crashtesthobby Scythe and Assassin
Whomprat is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 01:12 PM   #3
KSHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,309
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kansas USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loftrat View Post
I'm still learning to hover and getting used to controls, unfortunately I only have an mCPx BL and a 120SR so when it's breezy outside I need another way to practice.

I picked up a copy of Phoenix, hoping that this would be the answer, but I'm really starting to dislike (almost hate) flying in it.

For starters it just doesn't feel realistic - I can hover in all four orientations IRL but cannot get any helicopter in Phoenix to sit still. Everything drifts and wanders across the sky with varying levels of craziness. I'm constantly battling to stop the thing getting away from me (and this is with no breeze at all) so the chances of me moving on to forward flight and turns just seems to be slim to none right now.

Phoenix also seems to randomly glitch, and I get either a spike in pitch or power that sends whatever model I'm flying shooting upwards by about 20ft.

I know I need to spend time in the sim' in order to improve my flying (because there's no way I can put in enough hours IRL due to weather, batteries, space, etc) but I find it so demoralising / demotivating that every time I do I just never want to go back to it again.

What can / should I do to make this thing behave a little? Would I be better with a different sim'? Am I expecting too much?
It really depend on how good a video card you have in your computer, my laptop has no additional memory on the video so it will have problems when there is a lot of scenery mine will be slowed down.
__________________
Jim Swink
RC OMG Field Representative
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin700, Align700E, Align500, Coming soon: HeliXHeli G700, w/Bavariandemon3SX
Futaba 14SGH
KSHeli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:14 PM   #4
HarryR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 860
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA, CA, San Mateo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loftrat View Post
I'm still learning to hover and getting used to controls, unfortunately I only have an mCPx BL and a 120SR so when it's breezy outside I need another way to practice.

I picked up a copy of Phoenix, hoping that this would be the answer, but I'm really starting to dislike (almost hate) flying in it.

For starters it just doesn't feel realistic - I can hover in all four orientations IRL but cannot get any helicopter in Phoenix to sit still. Everything drifts and wanders across the sky with varying levels of craziness. I'm constantly battling to stop the thing getting away from me (and this is with no breeze at all) so the chances of me moving on to forward flight and turns just seems to be slim to none right now.

Phoenix also seems to randomly glitch, and I get either a spike in pitch or power that sends whatever model I'm flying shooting upwards by about 20ft.

I know I need to spend time in the sim' in order to improve my flying (because there's no way I can put in enough hours IRL due to weather, batteries, space, etc) but I find it so demoralising / demotivating that every time I do I just never want to go back to it again.

What can / should I do to make this thing behave a little? Would I be better with a different sim'? Am I expecting too much?
I don't know about the glitch but let me comment on the Phoenix. I had the same issues. Could not get a heli to fly remotely to what I was expecting and all the suggestions on the forum just did not work for me. So I went back to basics.
I set up a complete NEW HELICOPTER TX from scratch , made sure that there are NO trims of any kind in the set up and saved that TX in the Phoenix system. NOTE: You will need to go back into YOUR CONTROLS settings and make sure your servos are moving the correct way . I also used the Avant Aurora Ultimate 90 that is in the Phoenix system already It is a nitro model and you can see the smoke AND you can make sure the main blades / disk is very visible. Then, I just set it up in the simple way and run the dial (on the set up page) at about 60 percent. Et voila! That thing now flies like a slow Protos 500 ( which is my main heli) , it is easy to flip and fly upside down . Try it that way . AND.. If you want to fly airplanes... set up a DIFFERENT / completely separate Transmitter for your planks.,
__________________
Protos 500 / DX8, Blade Nano CPX/ DX6i.
HarryR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 10:54 PM   #5
crashjack
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,085
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Memphis, TN area
Default

Try adjusting Hoverability upward in the advanced setup. That will help keep from drifting. Also as others have mentioned, fly larger models... 550+.
__________________
Go Dawgs!!!
crashjack is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 01:30 AM   #6
nbells
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Default

" I can hover in all four orientations IRL but cannot get any helicopter in Phoenix to sit still. Everything drifts and wanders across the sky with varying levels of craziness."

Check your setup and adjust the settings for the model you are using. Are you using TX controls or Phoenix controls ?
__________________
Nigel.
A few little tiddlers ..SR, 300X, TRex 500E Pro with DFC, Trex 700DFC..... and quite a few Planks and Tanks !
nbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 10:29 AM   #7
garyji
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,117
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Western North Carolina
Default

Guess what. The real ones don't "sit still" either.

G.
__________________
T-450 Sport FBL, T-550 V1 FBL, T-600E Pro. Red Goblin 700. Goblin 500. 350 QX, Q500 Typhoon. Bunch of little Blades, and Planks. DX8, Full scale Jet Plank Driver, U.S. Navy Ret.
garyji is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 02:55 PM   #8
Gladius
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,129
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lusby, MD
Default

I have a similar thread discussing the difficulties I've had with hovering in Phoenix. I actually think it handles forward flight a lot better than it does with hovering. So go ahead and try that!

As others have said, larger helis fly better. I used the Miniature Aircraft Whiplash Nitro when I was starting.
__________________
Amount spent on my real hobby - buying helicopter parts: $9361

<> Trex 600 ESP FBL, Trex 500 ESP FBL, MCPX BL <>
<> E-Flite P-51D Mustang 280, SkyAngel L-39 50mm EDF <>
Gladius is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 11:09 AM   #9
idle^
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loftrat View Post
Phoenix also seems to randomly glitch, and I get either a spike in pitch or power that sends whatever model I'm flying shooting upwards by about 20ft.
It sounds like you are getting some sort of noise interference. How do you have your TX hooked up to the computer? USB? Mono Cable? When you calibrate your TX in the game does it appear any of the channels are moving slightly? If you are hooked up via audio cable try adjusting your recording device volume down to lower input sensitivity.
idle^ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 06:11 PM   #10
wab223
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canada
Default

+1 to the above.

This might be an issue with the dongle interface between you tx and your PC. Do you have the cable pushed right into the trainer port. Is it possible your unknowingly tugging the cable when your flying. What radio are you using? I would get in touch with support for this one if you cannot figure it out.
wab223 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 10:38 PM   #11
whitehedr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 484
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: IL, New Lenox
Default

Check out this thread and contact the good Captain for a lesson in Phoenix. You will NOT regret it. He will teach you all the nuances of setting up your Tx and Phoenix properly. He will then get you started in really flying the sim properly and teach you how to practice perfect. It will be time well spen, I guarantee it.

ROG

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1234396
__________________
Retired Old Guy
Goblin 500
Synergy N7 and E5
DX9
whitehedr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 03:18 PM   #12
Les RC Canada
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ashcroft BC Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loftrat View Post
I'm still learning to hover and getting used to controls, unfortunately I only have an mCPx BL and a 120SR so when it's breezy outside I need another way to practice.

I picked up a copy of Phoenix, hoping that this would be the answer, but I'm really starting to dislike (almost hate) flying in it.

For starters it just doesn't feel realistic - I can hover in all four orientations IRL but cannot get any helicopter in Phoenix to sit still. Everything drifts and wanders across the sky with varying levels of craziness. I'm constantly battling to stop the thing getting away from me (and this is with no breeze at all) so the chances of me moving on to forward flight and turns just seems to be slim to none right now.

Phoenix also seems to randomly glitch, and I get either a spike in pitch or power that sends whatever model I'm flying shooting upwards by about 20ft.

I know I need to spend time in the sim' in order to improve my flying (because there's no way I can put in enough hours IRL due to weather, batteries, space, etc) but I find it so demoralising / demotivating that every time I do I just never want to go back to it again.

What can / should I do to make this thing behave a little? Would I be better with a different sim'? Am I expecting too much?
I here what you are saying... I hate my Phoenix sim also.. I feel really stupid some times.. I go the HeliFreak site on setting up my Dx6i to my sim and they talk about option menus and sit this and changing that and I can't figure it out and can't find where they want me to go nothing is clear and no manules. What gets frustrating for me is that it's like you are already supost to know everything already. I even went to the flight school and they start talking about inverted hovering ... How do you do that no instructions just do inverted hovering... Pritty frustrated.
__________________
Blade Cx2, Blade SR, Trex 450 SE V2 and Dx6i
Les RC Canada is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 03:49 PM   #13
whitehedr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 484
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: IL, New Lenox
Default

See my post just above and do what I suggest. You will no longer dislike Phoenix.

ROG
__________________
Retired Old Guy
Goblin 500
Synergy N7 and E5
DX9
whitehedr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 05:35 PM   #14
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 5,062
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les RC Canada View Post
I here what you are saying... I hate my Phoenix sim also.. I feel really stupid some times.. I go the HeliFreak site on setting up my Dx6i to my sim and they talk about option menus and sit this and changing that and I can't figure it out and can't find where they want me to go nothing is clear and no manules. What gets frustrating for me is that it's like you are already supost to know everything already. I even went to the flight school and they start talking about inverted hovering ... How do you do that no instructions just do inverted hovering... Pritty frustrated.
PM me. I think I can help out.

The initial instructions were for Phoenix v4 and they changed the menus is Phoenix v5.

I can also help with inverted flying if you want to go there.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 07:06 AM   #15
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 5,062
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
PM me. I think I can help out.

The initial instructions were for Phoenix v4 and they changed the menus is Phoenix v5.

I can also help with inverted flying if you want to go there.
Just FYI for board. Managed to help out Les RC Canada and he is up and going again.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com