Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Micro/Mini Helicopters > Zoom/Shogun 400


Zoom/Shogun 400 Electric - Zoom - Shogun 400 Specific Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2004, 11:08 AM   #41
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default Tight X loose

Can you imagine how chep is for them to just see what their costumers are looking for? No need to pay for a poll or similar.

On my Raptor I had the same setup (belt drive) and I have to look for the right compression ratio.

Hey Bimmer, I cannot afford the belt drive mod yet although I can buy the Ultem or the Micro Heli mods. Wich of them youīll recommend?

Regards
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 04:37 PM   #42
daywalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Default

I bought a wider and taller landing gear from http://www.helihobby.com It's a lot more flexible but more stable. It's actually an ftermarket Hiummingbird landing skids.
__________________
Charging LiPO's is like playing with Plutonium. One false move and it's a nuclear meltdown!
daywalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 06:14 PM   #43
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Itīs a pitty that the prices still too high...
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 11:16 PM   #44
turboomni
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: trailer down by the river
Default

Well, I have five consecutive flights without a failure on the Zoom since installing the belt drive. That's a record - it was three before. I still have to work on it a little because the duration is down and the battery gets a lot hotter than it used to. I think I still have the tension a little too tight.

I'm going to try loosening it a little the next time I fly it.[/quote]\


Although I am new to electric Heli's I have many ,many flights with my stock Zoom with the 2nd stock motor now and the present gears[STOCK}. I did have a warped tail boom driveshaft that was replace with a new one AND replaced with the NEW Bevel Gear setup which I have NOT used yet. These were sent to me FREE plus a few other items from the factory. I do however am carefull about gear mesh and fly only from concrete NOT grass.
turboomni is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:15 AM   #45
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

turbo:

There seem to be two very different experiences that folks have with the Zoom. Some, like you, don't have any trouble with the tail gears. Some, like me, have nothing but trouble.

I can't explain why that is, unless it something to do with having the right "touch" when setting them up. Or maybe there are some "good" gears and some "bad" ones.

Hey, if you want another stock motor, let me know. I have the one that came out mine that I never used. :mrgreen:
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:32 AM   #46
turboomni
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: trailer down by the river
Default

Thanks for ther offer with an extra stock motor. I should be getting my 400Dh in a day or so.
The belt drive would be the best overall situatuion and add piece of mind. If my gears start to crap out often, I would get the belt system.
turboomni is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:54 AM   #47
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Guys, I was reading on RunRider (http://runryder.com/helicopter/t134654p1/) that the guys are getting pretty sure that the vilain on the tail wag is the interference between the Gyro and the CC25 ESC.

Some of them are using tin foil to wrap the servos, wires and gyro.

What about that huh?
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 10:20 AM   #48
daywalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Default

What gyro are they using that is causing the wag? I'm going to get a CC Phoenix 25 controller for my Himax. I hope I don't run into problems.
__________________
Charging LiPO's is like playing with Plutonium. One false move and it's a nuclear meltdown!
daywalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 10:55 AM   #49
capebob
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,195
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Default

I'm almost positive that the tail wag is caused by the Phoenix 25. I have a rear, tail boom mounted 401 and had my wires running down along the bottom of the frames right next to the speed control. I rerouted the gyro lead to the top of the frame just under the spur gear and that eliminated the tail wag that I had.

Bob
__________________
Samuel Adams field rep
Buffalo Wings field rep

Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

Churchill
capebob is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 11:43 AM   #50
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Iīm very impressed that this can be the answer to LOTS of tail wags on Shoguns around the world and weīre just revealing! ! ! ! !
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:33 PM   #51
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

You've got me thinking something....

I had real bad glitching on mine when I first set it up. I put a choke on the lead from the ESC to the reciever and the glitch went away. I wonder if using another one on the gyro lead would help?

I have another one and I'll try it. Can't hurt, right??
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:37 PM   #52
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Hehe, just hurted my understanding on what is a "choke". In my AIKIDO classes is kind of "giving a tie" on the opponent. On the ancient cars it is used to raise the acceleration. I canīt figure out what it is on this topic.
Not your blame (of course), itīs just my poo english
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:10 PM   #53
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

LOL! In this case, a "choke" is basically a magnet that absorbs radio interference. The ones I use are little rings that you loop the servo wires through. Others plug in line with the servo leads. Either way they do a very good job of reducing interfence conducted along the servo wires.

I think the CC25 must be very "noisy" because the glitching was so bad until I installed the choke on the ESC lead. I'm going to try it on the gyro and see if helps the tail wagging.
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:58 PM   #54
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Hehehe, thanks for the english class!

Maybe I canīt find this choke here in Brasil, so , what about the tin foils?

regards
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 10:24 PM   #55
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

Quote:
so , what about the tin foils?
Don't know. Never tried that.

If your hobby shop can get JR products, they should be able to get the chokes. Mine are made by JR. If not, maybe I can get some for you and send them to you.
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 10:20 AM   #56
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Bimmer,

95% of the radios here are Futaba, so, thereīs no JR around. You think I can use

same of yours in my Futaba?

Talking ībout it: Iīve found a 1024 PCM 6ch from Futaba for 65 you think I can use

it on Shogun?

Regards
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 10:27 AM   #57
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

Yes, you can use the JR chokes on Futaba. There is nothing special about them that would prevent it. I'm sure that JR probably doesn't actually manufacture the things, anyway. They probably just get them somewhere. There is no reason why they couldn't be used with any brand of radio.

That receiver ought to work fine. The only thing you have to be careful of is the size and weight. You should try to avoid using a big and heavy reciever. If you have no choice, an option is to remove the plastic case. that will reduce the size and weight a little bit.
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 09:21 AM   #58
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

If you can send me, I can send you the money via PayPal?
Regards
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 09:42 AM   #59
rob_jones
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perry, GA
Default

Ok, sure! But PayPal is dead right now!

I will pick some up this weekend. I think they are about $10.
rob_jones is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 09:52 AM   #60
Pipefish
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brasil
Default

Yes PP is dead! Any clue when itīs going to work again?
Pipefish is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Micro/Mini Helicopters > Zoom/Shogun 400


Zoom/Shogun 400 Electric - Zoom - Shogun 400 Specific Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com