Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G3


4G3 Walkera 4G3 Helicopter Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 03:13 PM   #1
Dusty1000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,882
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glasgow, U.K.
Default tail motor started by itself

Wow first post in this forum for over a month. Am I the only one here still flying a 4G3?

Strange thing happened today, switched on TX and plugged in the lipo as usual, then instead of the heli initialising, the tail motor span up to full speed. Fortunately the heli was still in my hand so I just unplugged the lipo.

Tried again and it initialised as normal, flew another 2 lipos without any problems.

Anyone else had this happen?

Dusty
__________________
Blade 400, mSR, mCPX - Sonix SX450SE - Walkera 1#A, 4#3, 4#3A, 4#3B, 4G3
Dusty1000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 05:02 PM   #2
Steve Joblin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,900
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA USA
Default

That is pretty weird. Never heard of that before. I have been experiencing a weird situation where I bind my 4G6 and the servos move like little "robots"... they don't move smoothy, but rather "choppy" and jump from position to position... difficult to explain, but they just don't operate smootly. I unplug the heli, turn off the TX, then go through the entire "turn on" process again, (TX on, then plug in heli battery, wait for it to initialize) and everything seems to move smooth and as one would expect. It has happened a few times, but doesn't happen all the time. Strange!
Steve Joblin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 07:59 PM   #3
Dusty1000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,882
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glasgow, U.K.
Default

I haven't had that particular quirk happen before, it's almost like these helis have personalities

Dusty
__________________
Blade 400, mSR, mCPX - Sonix SX450SE - Walkera 1#A, 4#3, 4#3A, 4#3B, 4G3
Dusty1000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:08 AM   #4
Steve Joblin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,900
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty1000 View Post
"it's almost like these helis have personalities"

Dusty
What do you mean by "like"... they actually do!!
Steve Joblin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 10:20 PM   #5
-crash-wellthatdidntwork
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

dusty, mine did the same thing too. its a strange thing when the heli has a mind of its own. mine a few times wouldnt bind all the way, it would start and then just stop. i have also had mine in mid flight it would act like i switched it into 3d (without the exrtra speed) and the throttle would become the vertical movement. havent figured that one out either.
Wes
-crash-wellthatdidntwork is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:04 AM   #6
Dusty1000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,882
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glasgow, U.K.
Default

I told my 4G3 at the time that it was being naughty. I said 'DON'T DO IT AGAIN!!!'

Since then it has behaved itself

Dusty
__________________
Blade 400, mSR, mCPX - Sonix SX450SE - Walkera 1#A, 4#3, 4#3A, 4#3B, 4G3
Dusty1000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:04 AM   #7
-crash-wellthatdidntwork
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

hahahaha

i didnt have to say a word, i just gave it the raised eyebrow and itknew i ment business! haha

Wes
-crash-wellthatdidntwork is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 11:30 PM   #8
wschart
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Default

Well, I though I had things pretty well sorted out, but tonight I went to fly some and the tail won't turn at all. Seems to be related to putting on the canopy and perhaps rubberbanding up all the wires. I had this problem earlier today and I took the canopy and rubberband off and started messing around with the wire to see if something was loose. Eventually the rotor started turning. If I am remembering correctly, I did put the band back on and successfully flew some.
wschart is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 12:00 PM   #9
xp190
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Default

Mine did the tail rotor spin up on me as well a few times, just unplug the batt and connect it up again. It thinks it can fly on its own, you have to set it straight.

xp
xp190 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G3


4G3 Walkera 4G3 Helicopter Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com